African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by Jason
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I made this dish tonight, I think it was a good base, but for me it seemed to be missing something. I added some cayenne as others had recommended, I think this definitely helped. I also used 3 1/2 tsp of curry. I felt it could have been a tad sweeter, I think another poster recommended 1 Tbsp of sugar, I think I'll give that a try next time. Overall, a start to something good, just need to get the adjustments figured out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
great recipe, I tried this one becasue it didn't use any strange ingredients, I had everything in my pantry already. I added tons more curry, but I understand the regular grocery store variety is not the best to use. It tasted great! I only used half the coconut milk, becasue it got really soupy, not sure if that was my mistake or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
My whole family loved this! Tasted justlike the curry we get here in Kenya...yummy! The reason I only gave it a 4 star was because I thought it was rather bland without the cayenne pepper. But adding some cayenne pepper (a half of teaspoon I think) made it just perfect for us. I also added extra garlic and I forgot to add the lemon, I'll have to do that next time. This is a favorite! Thanks Valeriekooka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Really easy to make and I was really impressed with how it turned out. I had less chicken (just some chicken breast I had in the freezer) so it would have been better with more but the curry itself is nice. A bit heavy on the lemon so I might add some sugar before eating the other half I have left. I will certainly use this recipe again, possibly adding more curry and garlic and maybe adding some ginger. I loved the coconut flavour, and the creaminess. I may even get the larger can of coconut cream next time. Another thing I might try is adding some chili or dicing the tomatoes before cooking. I served this curry with naan bread and will have the leftover with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Loved it! My suggestion is to add 1 TBSP of sugar to the finished curry...it makes it taste more like the curries served in our favorite resturant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERGRAY04

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is a fabulous recipe. Great point to start from. Add yur own whatever to make it yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I made this for my family and they loved it. I did add cayenne pepper for an extra kick loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Different and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This was okay. I was expecting it to have more kick than it did. Next time I will add half a teaspoon of red pepper flakes & maybe use a hotter curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This was really good, but maybe a bit heavy on the lemon, and there's not nearly enough curry. I made this with a pound of shrimp, basmati rice, and diced (not whole) tomatoes. I omitted the bay leaf because I did not have one. I upped the garlic to 4 cloves and upped the curry to 1 tbsp, but I think it could have used even more. I liked it, but it was also better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States