African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I served this dish last night at a dinner party for some friends who are foodies. They LOVED it and one asked for the recipe to take back to France with her! I read through the suggestions and added some brown sugar and doubled the curry. I think the chicken tastes much better if marinated a short while ahead of time. I mixed some plain yoghurt with turmeric in a bowl and then put the chicken in (whole), covered it and stuck it in the fridge. Then I started chopping the onion and getting out the other ingredients. It can marinate anywhere from 30 minutes to several hours. While the onion cooks I take out the chicken and cube it. It tastes especially tender and delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I was really stressed out today because i wanted to make a chicken curry but none of the recipies on this site got consistent reviews. In the end I improvised, basically making this recipie with fresh ginger. It turned out fantastic -- but I agree with the other reviewer who said hers was good because she was a good cook. The trick is you can't work with this particular recipie like a robot -- think of it more like friendly advice than engineering specifications. If it doesn't taste good it means you aren't done yet!!! For me the key was getting the salt right and adding lots and lots of extra garlic (I had garlic powder but fresh would have been better). The only thing I'd do differently is that next time I'd throw in some potatoes. And start cooking earlier than I did today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I didn't add the lemon juice and the recipe seemed ok. This recipe definitely needs more kick though! I'll have to try cayenne or red pepper flakes next time like others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Absolutely delicious!!! I added more curry, carrot, irish potato, escallion,garlic powder and a little more salt and pepper to my taste.My boyfriend really lov ed this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Perfect curry dish. I am squeamish about handling raw chicken, so I just used an already roasted chicken from the supermarket. I have mild curry powder, so I doubled up on that. I figure if I wanted to kick up the heat, I have enough cayenne and chili powder to do the job, but decided I didn't need it. I've always shunned curry dishes with tomatoes, it just didn't feel right. So this is my first dish, and it tastes wonderful! The brightness of the tomatoes work very well with the sweetness of the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
this was beyond delicious, but that could be bacause I am a beyond amazing cook.. hmm... :j My family says this tasted like something out of a resturant and they beg me to make it again and again! I did make some changes though which I will reveal in order to make your dish of curry as good as mine. Let's see.. first make sure you use bonless chicken cause it is a b***h pulling the bones out of that sucker. On to the next step.. I used garlic flavored olive oil instead of regular, but that isn't nescesary at all. My next change was to make absolutely certain the tomatoes were as drained as possible, and to dice them as well. Next, I used probably a total of 2 or more tablespoons of curry powder, most of which I added during the coconut milk stage. Just be sure to tast it frequently and add the curry powder to meet your own personal preference. Next, I added around 1-2tbsp of dark brown sugar and about a tsp of new mexico chili powder, THIS STEP IS A MUST!!!! Next, I added only about 3/4 can of coconut milk which I thought was perfect, but I was told the whole can could of been used. Again, it depends on personal preference so taste frequently. Last, I ended up only using about 1/2 the amount of lemon juice, which everyone thought was lemony enough. Last last, be sure to serve over rice, it's delicious that way! I hope I could help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jason
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I made this dish tonight, I think it was a good base, but for me it seemed to be missing something. I added some cayenne as others had recommended, I think this definitely helped. I also used 3 1/2 tsp of curry. I felt it could have been a tad sweeter, I think another poster recommended 1 Tbsp of sugar, I think I'll give that a try next time. Overall, a start to something good, just need to get the adjustments figured out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
great recipe, I tried this one becasue it didn't use any strange ingredients, I had everything in my pantry already. I added tons more curry, but I understand the regular grocery store variety is not the best to use. It tasted great! I only used half the coconut milk, becasue it got really soupy, not sure if that was my mistake or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
My whole family loved this! Tasted justlike the curry we get here in Kenya...yummy! The reason I only gave it a 4 star was because I thought it was rather bland without the cayenne pepper. But adding some cayenne pepper (a half of teaspoon I think) made it just perfect for us. I also added extra garlic and I forgot to add the lemon, I'll have to do that next time. This is a favorite! Thanks Valeriekooka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Really easy to make and I was really impressed with how it turned out. I had less chicken (just some chicken breast I had in the freezer) so it would have been better with more but the curry itself is nice. A bit heavy on the lemon so I might add some sugar before eating the other half I have left. I will certainly use this recipe again, possibly adding more curry and garlic and maybe adding some ginger. I loved the coconut flavour, and the creaminess. I may even get the larger can of coconut cream next time. Another thing I might try is adding some chili or dicing the tomatoes before cooking. I served this curry with naan bread and will have the leftover with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States