African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very good, easy and simple, with few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This was good. It reminded me of Chicken Tikka Masala, but much healthier. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Great recipe. I used half of the coconut milk and lemon juice that the recipe called for. Even my son, the 'Burger King' loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
The only change I made to this recipe was to add more curry powder. My husband liked this recipe but the kids and I both agreed it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This recipe is fabulous. All my family just loved it. The only variations I made were 1 extra clove of garlic and a tiny pinch of extra hot cayene pepper. This recipe is easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queenstown, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Pretty good, but i didn't have curry powder so i substituted a 1/2 tsp of cayenne, tumeric, coriander, cumin, and cloves. I used chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. Also, I'm not a huge fan of coconut curries but not to shabs nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simon Gale

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This was a wonderful dish. Next time I might add cayenne for a little extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I have no need to eat restaurant curry ever again as this recipe is fantastic IF you make some modifications! Before starting to cook, I marinated the cut chicken in a mixture of plain yogurt, tumeric, and pepper to give the chicken a great flavor and prevention against drying out. Once you start the actual dish, add extra onion and a lot of extra garlic (I used 6 cloves) and saute taking care not to burn the garlic. I added a bit more canned tomato than the recipe called for and supplemented with fresh chopped plum tomatoes. Add more curry than the recipe suggests - perhaps 1 Tbsp or more to suit your taste. I was a bit heavy-handed on the salt and it was perfect. The end result will be too bland if you're not. Tasting as you go is your best bet. Prior to adding the coconut I was sure to add a healthy dash of cayenne pepper to give the recipe a kick. I only added 1/2 of the can of coconut milk as any more would have made the dish too soupy. During this stage I also added about 1 Tbsp of light brown sugar and juiced only 1/2 of a large lemon. This dish will amaze YOU as well as your friends and family if modified to your liking. Don't be shy with experimenting with flavors. The next modification will be to add vegetables to the saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Linarelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This is a great 'base' curry recipe! Based on other reviews, I added potatoes as the onions and garlic sauteed. I increased the curry powder to 2T, added extra garlic, a dash of paprika, a sprinkling of cayenne and chili powder. I used 1 lb of boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken. The last change I made was chopping a fresh tomato and adding it in toward the end. It turned out spicy (made my eyelids sweat) and pretty much delicious. Next time I'll try adding some carrots as well. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Ingraham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States