African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This recipe is AMAZING! It's the first curry dish I've made and am so pleased with it. It's just as good as the restaurants I've been to here in Japan. This will DEFINITELY be a staple recipe in my home. My family loved it and my friend loved the leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I made my own variation of this recipe. Boy is it good!!!!!!!!!!!! I will definitely be keeping this recipe and making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
this was good but definately needed some improvement. i agree with the previous cooks who said that the addition of extra garlic, brown sugar and cayenne or some other heat source are necessary. and that one can of coconut milk is too much. i used half a can and about 2T of yogurt to add thickness. whats more, i used 2 fresh tomatoes instead of canned and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon for extra aroma. i also think that the sauce can be prepared ahead of time and stored in fridge til needed, adding sauted chicken (or shrimp, which i used and really liked)when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was very delectable. I followed the exact recipe without the onions (because my husband hates onions)but added onion powder. It was very good but I think next time I will tweak it and add some cayenne pepper or other things to give it a little bit more spicyness and flavor. Mine came out a little runny as well. I'm still trying to think of a way to make it a little thicker but it was delicious! This is definitly going to be kept in my special recipe folder! The family really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CKMabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe. I added more salt and curry to our taste. I also threw in some red pepper flakes and some cayenne for some more heat. I didn't have any coconut milk so I used 3 tbsps of yoghurt instead and added a bit of lime juice instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I have made this twice now in the past 2 weeks. It's just that good! I also adjusted it with more garlic, more curry, more salt. Also added 1 tsp. red pepper flakes for heat. Love it!! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I marinated chicken breasts in plain yogurt and tumeric. , and added extra garlic, curry, and some hot chilis. 1/2 a lemon was enough. The result was SO SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
My favorite recipe to date. This is saying a lot because I usually fix a gourmet meal each night. I could not get enough of this curry dish. I used 5 garlic cloves instead of 2. I also used 2 tbsp of curry and a dash of chili powder. This made the curry a little spicy but not too hot. I also used 2 fresh tomatoes and a large can of the peeled tomoatoes. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it was delicious. Serve over rice. Double the recipe if you want to have leftovers. It serves about 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
It was tasy, I added more cumin and coriander. I did not have any unsweetened coconut milk so I used Goya's creame of coconut(sweetened), I used only half of cup. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very good, easy and simple, with few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States