African Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
It's been quite some time since I had a curry dish and I decided to give this one a try, mainly due to the fact that it looked easy and only had 10 ingredients. It was delicious and I will definitely have this again soon! I did take the advice in the CCOTTINO review below of marinating chicken in yogurt and turmeric, extra onion and garlic, more curry, 1/2 of the coconut milk and 1/2 lemon juiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made this using chicken. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This recipe is worth every star, it's fast, easy and delicious. It's not as hot as other curries but it's easy enough to adjust if you want it hotter. I usually make it with a pound of shrimp. I added 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp turmeric and 1/4 tsp cumin. I also cut the coconut milk to half a can to get a thicker sauce and to cut back on the fat intake. I followed the cooking directions as written. Thanks Valerie for the great curry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was just okay. The coconut milk was nice idea in theory, but a whole can is terribly fattening and if you eat this the same day you make it all you taste is coconut milk. It was, however, much better leftover the next day but I wouldn't make this again when there are so many better curry recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I decided to try this recipe because my sister in law who is from Nigeria made something similar a few weeks ago but she had no real exact measurements to tell she just goes by taste... so i used this recipe as a guide and we made the following alterations used 10 drum sticks less the skin used 2 cans of coconut milk added 2 small potatoes and 2 medium carrots we used 2 medium onions, one fresh tomato, one bell pepper and 4 cloves of garlic we also added at least 1.5 table spoons of hot curry powder and some ground cayenne pepper also a knorr cube... it came out awesome and very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! Instead of a whole chicken, I used 2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken breast cut into chunks. Then I served it over brown rice and shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
To tenderize the chicken I marinated it in fat free plain yogurt with tumeric and garlic stirred in for a couple hours, then I browned it before adding to the onion mix. I was out of curry, so I mixed my own African curry powder: 1 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger 1 1/2 teaspoons dried garlic 1 tablespoon ground coriander 1 tablespoon ground cumin 1 tablespoon ground turmeric 1/2 teaspoon cayenne 1/2 teaspoon hot chili powder. I doubled the recipe and only used 1 can of coconut, kicked the curry to at least double, added a bit more cayenne pepper and cumin. YUM! *I added thin sliced red potato, red pepper and green peas to the onion at the end, too. Forget about the lemon, you don't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I used cut up whole chicken. It was good but more runny than I'd like. I thought about thickening it a little. I upped the salt a little and used fresh roma tomatoes and sauted that down a good while. I still thought it should be thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I loved this, and of course, tweaked it just a bit. I added 2 big tablespoons of a very spicy Vindaloo curry paste (you can find it in your local grocery store w the Indian foods, usually), cooked cubed potatoes, and peas. I also lightly sauteed some shrimp until barely done, and added in the last 5 minutes of the simmering time near the end. Used the whole can of coconut milk, no problems with the sauce being runny at all. Really good, restaurant quality dish. Now I can have curry whenever I want!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSE24HR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved this. I used skinned chicken thighs with bone left in and added 1/2 cup of fresh peas from the farmer's market. I kept it mild and sweet and completely forgot about the lemon juice at the end. It didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States