African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2000
I loved this stew. Thick, hearty, peanutty. It's like being on an African safari, except without the $3000 trip. I didn't have any garbanzo beans so I left those out and I also added jalapenos, which spiced it up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2000
Great dish! ! It has an asian or thai flavor. I used half the peanut butter(which was also reduced fat) and oil to reduce fat and calories and it was still a terrific dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
Delicious! The peanut butter and garbanzo beans add such a wonderful twist to the standard "Chicken w/ Rice" dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
Great recipe. The leftovers are nice cold the next day as well. My daughter sniffed suspiciously and asked 'Why does this smell of peanut butter? I told her to taste it first. She loved it. It will be one of our favourites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
This is a very tasty recipe. I also only used half the amount of peanut butter. Next time I make it I will add some veggies to make it more colourful. Colorwise it doesn't look very appitizing. But it sure it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Graver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
This is great but very rich so serve with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
Fast, easy, and delicious! This will definitely become a family favourite! I cut the amount of black and red pepper in half to make it milder, also I added an extra cup of water after the peanut butter was added because it got so thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
It had a strong peanut butter taste. My fiance liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
I served this for guests, and it was a HUGE hit. My kids asked for seconds, though our friends' kids barely touched it. (Mine are ages four, five and six, and theirs are 3 and 2, so age might have been a factor.) I added celery and carrots, and thought it was wonderful! Thank you for the recipe, Leah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2000
This recipe is definitely a keeper! I did elaborate on it and added carrots, okra and tabasco. I'm sure next time I'll add different veggies but the basic recipe is great because no matter what you throw in it's tasty!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States