African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Incredible! Like most that reviewed this recipe, I used chicken broth instead and I added a little more coriander and cumin. Other than that, I used only what it required. It was very very good! Perfect amount of spicy heat! I love spice though, for those sensitive to it, you may want to lower it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe tasted good, I have to agree with others who said that it was slightly too hot. It is a good warming dish for winter. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is AMAZING. I made a few adjustments, but kept the basic flavors the same, and it was out of this world! My adjustments: used about 2 pounds of cut up chicken thighs instead of the whole fryer, and used the fat rendered off the chicken instead of olive oil. I also had broccoli and carrots lying around so I threw them in at the same time as the potatoes. Since I had so much more "stuff" I used a tablespoon of each spice instead of a teaspoon, and ended up adding 4 cups of weak chicken broth and 1 1/4 cup peanut butter. My sauce did end up pretty runny so maybe 3 cups broth and 1 cup PB would have been better. It came out with a perfect blend of savory, spicy and sweet flavors. This will definitely be a go-to meal when I have veggies I need to use up and want to make something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used a slow cooker. Used about 2 c chicken broth. Maybe use more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was really great! I'm deffinitley making it again. I was out of potatoes but had lot's of red beans so I just substituted those for the garbanzo beans and the potatoes and it still came out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moserj2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I only used 1/2 cup of peanut butter, but I also used 1/4 of chopped peanuts. I kept the spices the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I qualify my review by stating that I LOVE Thai and Indian food so I think this recipe is great for a very flavorful and different meal. I'm wondering what type of GREEN vegetable I could add that would enhance it while making it a complete meal. FYI I thought I had coriander but didn't and it's great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I thought this had good flavor without being too hot. Will def be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I like the authenticty of using a whole chicken. Seasonings and spices were good, I adjusted to taste. Using chicken broth instead of water is the right choice. All is well when cooked well. If you want to change up a recipe with subs, make your own recipe and NAME IT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sutcliffe, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I also cut the peanut butter to 1/2 cup, used chicken broth instead of water and used only 3/4 teaspoon of red pepper. Not bad, but was not blown away by this one. Maybe more onion?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States