African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Could not find garbanzo beans, so used black beans instead. Overall taste was very very good. I cooked this in a crock pot after spending 20 minutes to brown the chicken. I'm not sure if the crockpot is what gave the chicken dryness, but next time, I will add more chicken broth to ensure more of a soupy texture. Will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonfly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I made this with a good friend of mine for a group of 7. We've been all trying to add new recipes into the mix to keep things interesting...was easy to make and EVERYONE LOVED IT...even my two picky little boy eaters. 7 thumbs up over here. We even added a can of diced tomatoes and green onions for color...and a can of coconut milk for extra liquid. This one is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
so yummy! I added turnip instead of potato, 3 cups vegetables stock instead of water and about 1/4 cup crunchy organic peanut butter instead of 3/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I made this recipe for a date night, and my husband who worked in Africa for a time loved it! I added carrots as one suggested and used broth instead of water. I also used chicken breasts. I served a fresh fruit drink of coconut milk, bananna, and pineapple juice on the side. Nice meal : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K Wagner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
absolutely delicious! So easy to make and my family loved it. Im sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Incredible! Like most that reviewed this recipe, I used chicken broth instead and I added a little more coriander and cumin. Other than that, I used only what it required. It was very very good! Perfect amount of spicy heat! I love spice though, for those sensitive to it, you may want to lower it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This recipe tasted good, I have to agree with others who said that it was slightly too hot. It is a good warming dish for winter. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is AMAZING. I made a few adjustments, but kept the basic flavors the same, and it was out of this world! My adjustments: used about 2 pounds of cut up chicken thighs instead of the whole fryer, and used the fat rendered off the chicken instead of olive oil. I also had broccoli and carrots lying around so I threw them in at the same time as the potatoes. Since I had so much more "stuff" I used a tablespoon of each spice instead of a teaspoon, and ended up adding 4 cups of weak chicken broth and 1 1/4 cup peanut butter. My sauce did end up pretty runny so maybe 3 cups broth and 1 cup PB would have been better. It came out with a perfect blend of savory, spicy and sweet flavors. This will definitely be a go-to meal when I have veggies I need to use up and want to make something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I used a slow cooker. Used about 2 c chicken broth. Maybe use more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was really great! I'm deffinitley making it again. I was out of potatoes but had lot's of red beans so I just substituted those for the garbanzo beans and the potatoes and it still came out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moserj2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States