African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was great! I did make a few modifications - instead of a whole chicken (which we didn't have) I used 4 whole legs (drumsticks and thighs) - had no coriander so I used cinnamon. Yams instead of potato - threw in some spinach and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWFoodie
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Really good. I doubled the spices and peanut butter. I also added a lot of salt. It needs it! But overall an nice exotic dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
great authentic recipe. don't ask me why, but i added a super-ripe mashed banana. i threw all the raw ingredients into the crockpot and cooked for about 6 hours. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Even though I love peanut butter, there was a bit too much in this stew. The biggest complaint that I had was that it l doesn't look appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I can't tell you how many years I've had this in my recipe box.. finally remembered to make this. Very yummy as I expected it would be, I wanted to make this a one dish meal to I added in - carrots, turnips, parsnips and during the last few minutes I added some chopped fresh spinach. I also used a powdered peanut butter product instead of the real stuff to cut calories. I served this with barley and had very filling and warming meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We loved this! Just a note--watch the pepper. I love hot and spicy, but used a couple twists of black pepper and just a tad over 3/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes. I used chicken stock instead of water and next time will use less peanut butter--mostly to save a few calories. I think 1/2 cup would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Really good and hearty on cold day!! Like other suggestion, used chicken broth instead of water, less peanut butter (1/2) cup crunchy (a little less thick) but tasty. Added carrots and celery and cooked with onion and potatoes. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We all liked it, but it was a bit on the Peanut buttery side. Next time we'll cut down the Peanut Butter and maybe use Chicken stock to bring the moisture content up a bit. Very Hardy and Rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hopkinton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I double or triple the spices plus add in some curry. I added 2 carrots, 2 celery ribs, a can of diced tomatoes. I also used sweet potatoe and chicken broth instead. I'm still afraid to add the suggested amount of peanut butter. I first did it with a heaping tablespoon then with two. Will try with full amount next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States