African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I made this for 3 adults. Here was their opinions. My husbands best friend loved it and took home all the left overs. My husband said it was "ok" and I could make it again if I wanted to for a change of pace. I thought it was awful. Does that reflect on the recipe? I don't think so. I didn't change a thing. I thought the peanut butter was overwhelming. Thank you Leah for giving me an opportunity to try a different blend of flavors. Unfortunately for me this just didn't agree with my palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was a little dry and too peanut buttery for my taste, and I LOVE peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
The consistency was off for me. The flavor was a bit bland as well and I even used a chile spiced peanut butter. It sounded like a good plan, but it didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Really interesting flavor. Different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is excellent! I read all the reviews and did everything suggested but added canned potatoes, celery and peas. Served with basmati rice. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
3.5 stars. I followed all the other advice: added carrots, celery, green onions, used chicken stock and halved the red pepper and black pepper. Used 3/4 cup pb. I still thought it was bland. So I added the rest of the spices and more cumin. It was still just ok. My picky step-son liked it, but I htink that is b/c it didn't have a distinct taste, unlike the curry's I've made lately that he doesn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe. I have made it multiple times, and while I can't say I've exactly followed it each time, the basics were the same. I have taken to adding curry powder to it... just a teaspoon or two, and it makes it into a really delicious curry dish when served over rice! Absolutely love it, will definitely make it again in the future. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This recipe was delicious! Served it over brown rice and enjoyed the leftovers for days! I made a few changes: -I used 2lbs chicken breast -added about 1 cup of chopped carrots -doubled the spices: doubling the spices gave the dish a nice kick, and everything balanced very well with the peanut butter. When I make this dish again (and I will make it again!), I will probably add more water and peanut butter to make more sauce since I found myself craving the spicey PB sauce on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I made this, and possibly made a mistake by not using natural peanut butter but just regular peanut butter. I thought it tasted delicious...but my family did not agree. If your diners don't enjoy a touch of sweet with their meat, I'd recommend using an unsweetened peanut butter (which it says in the recipe anyway!). But a good, easy dish to make and very warming on a cool day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was great! I did make a few modifications - instead of a whole chicken (which we didn't have) I used 4 whole legs (drumsticks and thighs) - had no coriander so I used cinnamon. Yams instead of potato - threw in some spinach and coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWFoodie
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States