African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
LOVED IT! It is so delicious! Made it last night for dinner, brought some leftovers to work for lunch and I have been craving it all morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesUtah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Plain City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter except that I ran out of peanut butter and had to use some almond butter. This recipe uses WAYYYYY too much peanut butter. It dried out in the frying pan and I at least doubled the water and it was still too dry. Also the color is a muddy brown. I recommend adding turmeric or paprika or tomato paste to add some color. I do think there is some potential in this recipe so I will be trying a few things to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
AMAZING. I did alter the recipe due to what I had on hand, e.g. carrots, celery, red and green pepper, sweet potato, cayenne pepper rather than red pepper flakes, and chicken broth rather than water. I also marinated the chicken in a lemon juice marinade beforehand. I tasted the stew after 1/2 c. peanut butter (crunchy) and decided that was enough for my personal preference. However, the peanut butter taste seemed to mellow a bit overnight, so next time I will go ahead and add the full 3/4 cup. My husband, who does not necessarily enjoy trying new dishes, LOVED it. We are actually fighting over the leftovers. I am planning to make a vegetarian version for a pitch-in at work. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and found there was not enough liquid to keep "simmering" - all of the liquid had cooked off, so I added more which also cooked off. I didn't cook near as long as the recipe stated but everything was overdone and it turned into a big mushy mess. It was ok, but probably not something I would take the time to cook in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I added a large handful of baby spinach, also celery, carrots and parsnips since I am avoiding potatoes. Next time I will use more of them because the parsnips were a nice rare bite in the stew. (I only used one carrot, one parsnip and 2 celery stalks.) I wanted to try something to "brighten" it up...oddly enough, a few packets of Taco Bell Fire sauce added some nice oomph to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good, warming, and satisfying dish. At the last minute I discovered that I didn't have ground coriander, so I used 1 tsp of curry powder instead of coriander and cumin (since curry has both). The taste was great! Used 2 cups of chicken broth, and additional 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Not bad - could have used a little more liquid and a little less pepper (maybe 1/2 tsp). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I wish there were a 1/2 star option, because 3 seems too low and 4 too high. This was good. Like other reviewers, I just found it bland. I used chicken broth instead of water, added more salt than called for, added carrots, cayenne pepper, even a little brown sugar towards the end b/c it was so lacking. But still it wasn't enough. It was good. It wasn't great and it seemed like it should have been. I can't put my finger on what was missing. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this during the holidays and it was really good. I did not have pepper flakes nor cilantro - but used paprika, chili powder and cumin. It was really good - surprisingly. I put all the ingredients in the crockpot and let it cook all day - I did not use water, but used chicken stock instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marisullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Made this for my whole family. Everyone enjoyed it and finished their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dinah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States