African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I won't make this again. It's not bad, but it's not great either. There are just too many wonderful recipes out there to keep any that don't make you go YUMmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Made it twice. Great! Just know how much peanut butter taste you like. The second time tried to add a little more taste and was too much peanut better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I tried this last night and thought it was wonderful. I did add some carrot, celery and used a can of chicken stock instead of water. My whole house smelled great and I ate way too much - it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was excellent. My wife and I are trying to do theme date nights. I made this over rice and watched the Lion King. I loved it! It was EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I added 2 cups of broth used left over turkey, 3 carrots, 2 celrey stalks, and I should have doubled the herbs and spice. I also added 1/2 tsp cayenne. I cooked the whole thing in a dutch oven. I chopped up some broccoli and threw it on top put the lid on the oven and cooked it for 10 min. Served on brown rice and it was great. I gave this three stars because I had to change so much in the recipe to get it tasty. A good basic recipe that you can change to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Love this recipe! I doubled the recipe and uses sweet and white potatoes. I served the stew over rice. I will make this again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is one of my favorite things to make. Its not too pretty, but the flavors blend well and its very filling. I often substitute the sweet potatoes or yams for the potato, and I have found that plain-old jiffy works just as well if you don't have natural peanut butter. My favorite way to serve it is over "Forbidden" black rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is so yummy and filling! You know that feeling you get after eating Thanksgiving dinner? This is the same. I have made it several times without changing anything. I have also made it for dinner guest and it was a huge hit! I have even had request to make it again. Some people wished it had a variety of veggies included but you can have them on the side if necessary. I did once with collar greens. So if you are experimenting or just want something new, this is it! You won't regret it! Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe is similar to what I ate in Sierra Leone, though we only had sweet potatoes. All stews like this had chopped tomatoes and sweet potato leaf. Chopped peanuts were sprinkled on top. Habenero-like chilies were widely available and made stews HOT!!! Palm oil would give this a nice color but it's hard to find in the States. Everything was cooked in iron pots over an open fire and everything was delicious! So, that's what I did to this recipe - sweet potatoes instead of potatoes, added tomatoes, used chicken and pork (though goat would have been more authentic), the garbanzos are great, and more chilies. I used a crock pot for about 5 hours on high. Thanks for the memories, Leah. It was fun making this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Added carrots and celery. I was too lazy to deal with cutting up a whole chicken, so I used chicken breasts instead. I also used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States