African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I added 2 cups of broth used left over turkey, 3 carrots, 2 celrey stalks, and I should have doubled the herbs and spice. I also added 1/2 tsp cayenne. I cooked the whole thing in a dutch oven. I chopped up some broccoli and threw it on top put the lid on the oven and cooked it for 10 min. Served on brown rice and it was great. I gave this three stars because I had to change so much in the recipe to get it tasty. A good basic recipe that you can change to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Love this recipe! I doubled the recipe and uses sweet and white potatoes. I served the stew over rice. I will make this again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is one of my favorite things to make. Its not too pretty, but the flavors blend well and its very filling. I often substitute the sweet potatoes or yams for the potato, and I have found that plain-old jiffy works just as well if you don't have natural peanut butter. My favorite way to serve it is over "Forbidden" black rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is so yummy and filling! You know that feeling you get after eating Thanksgiving dinner? This is the same. I have made it several times without changing anything. I have also made it for dinner guest and it was a huge hit! I have even had request to make it again. Some people wished it had a variety of veggies included but you can have them on the side if necessary. I did once with collar greens. So if you are experimenting or just want something new, this is it! You won't regret it! Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This recipe is similar to what I ate in Sierra Leone, though we only had sweet potatoes. All stews like this had chopped tomatoes and sweet potato leaf. Chopped peanuts were sprinkled on top. Habenero-like chilies were widely available and made stews HOT!!! Palm oil would give this a nice color but it's hard to find in the States. Everything was cooked in iron pots over an open fire and everything was delicious! So, that's what I did to this recipe - sweet potatoes instead of potatoes, added tomatoes, used chicken and pork (though goat would have been more authentic), the garbanzos are great, and more chilies. I used a crock pot for about 5 hours on high. Thanks for the memories, Leah. It was fun making this stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Added carrots and celery. I was too lazy to deal with cutting up a whole chicken, so I used chicken breasts instead. I also used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
this was really good. I also used chicken stock instead of water and substituted sweet potato for regular potato. For the chicken, I boned and skinned a pre-cooked roaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This has become a family favorite. I use less chicken, more garlic and cumin, and add a vegetable such as cauliflower when I mix in the garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
My boyfriend's family is from Zimbabwe and I love every chance I get to try her cooking. Always flavor-able and delicious! She usually makes a spinach with peanut butter and while I don't care for it, I've come around to the flavor of it in savory food because of her cooking. So I modified this recipe and added spinach & fresh tomatoes, chicken stock, brown sugar and less peanut butter. It's soo good & I wish I knew how to make their staple food sadza to go with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very good! I really didn't change a thing, other than using chicken breasts and thighs rather than bothering to debone a roaster. Love the flavor of the natural peanut butter and see no need to cut the amount. As it was cooking, the peanut butter fragrance was very strong, but the flavor turned out quite balanced. I think the only thing I would make sure to do next time is season the chicken with salt and pepper before browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States