African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Loved this recipe, flavor is incredible. I added different veggies, but I stayed true to the spices. I agree with some, appearance wise it is lacking, but add some colorful veggies and it perks up. If you like cumin and coriander, you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
wow, this turned out amazing. i did include some of the previous reviews suggestions like spinach and bell pepper. it was so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I also used chicken broth instead of water. My husband liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Excellent dish. This can also be made vegetarian by increasing the potatoes and eliminating the chicken, which doesn't change the dish much at all. We served it over saffron rice and with grilled Naan bread. Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Wonderful, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Before making this dish, I read many of the reviews. I made three changes...2 chicken breasts cut into small bits, 1 can of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of creamy peanut butter. It was WONDERFUL!!!! BUT...I think you need to be a person who would normally enjoy Thai or Indian food. It tasted very similar to a Panang chicken dish in a Kansas City Thai restaraunt. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Although my wife didnt care for this one, i really like it. Next time i'll include cilantro as a garnish and maybe add some red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This dish was good! This is like an Indian curry dish. I did have to modify it a bit b/c of what I had on hand - but, I decided to try it based on the 'whatever is on hand' mention ... I used 3 chicken breasts, sliced generously. I was running out of peanut butter and included some almond butter, I added a can of diced tomatoes (undrained), celery and green onions. I didn't have corriander on hand - I found a combo of sage and lemon zest would work instead. I just used a little sage. I used chicken broth - but much more than it calls for ... to maintain a more liquidy consistency. I only used half of the crushed red pepper - and that was plenty. I threw some peanuts in too. I served it over jasmine rice w/baguette. I agree with other comments - initially, I couldn't tell if the dish would be good? And it was! My husband agreed! I wasn't overly excited by it, but pleased to enjoy something new and I apprecitate the flexibility the recipe allows -- my children weren't goin' for the spicyness ... It makes it on my menu - but only very once-in-a-while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiSarahGraves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe with the only exception of substituting chicken broth for water like some of the reviewers had suggested and adding some carrots. It was very good and quite filling. Someone made the statement that this recipe "sticks to your bones". SOOOO TRUE! This was a good dinner recipe to make for a chilly night. Next time I make it, I will make it the same way but also add red peppers, take the spices up just a notch and add some unsalted peanuts for crunch. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSTANGIEB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I love this recipe, pretty quick and easy to make. I added a little more red pepper for a hot kick, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States