African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Before making this dish, I read many of the reviews. I made three changes...2 chicken breasts cut into small bits, 1 can of chicken broth and 1/2 cup of creamy peanut butter. It was WONDERFUL!!!! BUT...I think you need to be a person who would normally enjoy Thai or Indian food. It tasted very similar to a Panang chicken dish in a Kansas City Thai restaraunt. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Although my wife didnt care for this one, i really like it. Next time i'll include cilantro as a garnish and maybe add some red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This dish was good! This is like an Indian curry dish. I did have to modify it a bit b/c of what I had on hand - but, I decided to try it based on the 'whatever is on hand' mention ... I used 3 chicken breasts, sliced generously. I was running out of peanut butter and included some almond butter, I added a can of diced tomatoes (undrained), celery and green onions. I didn't have corriander on hand - I found a combo of sage and lemon zest would work instead. I just used a little sage. I used chicken broth - but much more than it calls for ... to maintain a more liquidy consistency. I only used half of the crushed red pepper - and that was plenty. I threw some peanuts in too. I served it over jasmine rice w/baguette. I agree with other comments - initially, I couldn't tell if the dish would be good? And it was! My husband agreed! I wasn't overly excited by it, but pleased to enjoy something new and I apprecitate the flexibility the recipe allows -- my children weren't goin' for the spicyness ... It makes it on my menu - but only very once-in-a-while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiSarahGraves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe with the only exception of substituting chicken broth for water like some of the reviewers had suggested and adding some carrots. It was very good and quite filling. Someone made the statement that this recipe "sticks to your bones". SOOOO TRUE! This was a good dinner recipe to make for a chilly night. Next time I make it, I will make it the same way but also add red peppers, take the spices up just a notch and add some unsalted peanuts for crunch. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSTANGIEB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I love this recipe, pretty quick and easy to make. I added a little more red pepper for a hot kick, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I don't normally write reviews but I wanted to express caution to anyone considering trying this recipe. The peanut butter was overwhelming! The sauce was thick and pasty. I would recommend reducing the pb to 1-2 tablespoons or even eliminating it altogether. Maybe use a can of diced tomatoes with herbs. I don't know but it definitely needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I had poached left-over chicken from another recipe that I wanted to use in something other than the "same old, same old" dishes. This looked very intriguing. Other than having the cooked chicken on hand, I also had one sweet potato and a bit of okra to use up, so they went into the stew, too. Otherwise, I followed the directions. The spice blend was delicious -- with a kick, but not overpowering. I received rave reviews from my family and our dinner guest. They all claimed this is a real "keeper" recipe and urged me to make it again. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This stew was all right, not bad, but not real great either. I sampled a little right before I added the peanut butter and garbanzo beans, and I loved the flavor then...but after I added the peanut butter it just turned kind of blah for me. The peanut butter was very overpowering, so much so that I couldn't really even taste any of the other spices that I had put in it. And this is coming from someone who LOVES pb. Maybe I just don't like it in savory dishes, who knows? If I make it again I think I will add everything, but leave the pb out, and use chicken broth instead of water and make it more of a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was ok, but I wouldn't make it again. I used less peanut butter and chicken broth, as others have suggested, but I had to heavily spice to try and cut the peanut butter flavor. It was just too much and gave the stew an odd texture. I would probably suggest even less peanut butter and adding another flavor to cut, like celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Pretty good recipe, although, I added a little extra salt and seasoning, and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, I used chicken drumsticks which is what I had on hand. Garnish with crushed peanuts and green onion slices. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscallietea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States