African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Changes: I used 3 lbs of chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken, added 2 sliced carrots at the same time as the onion and potatoes, and used an extra half teaspoon of cumin and a squeeze of lime instead of the coriander because I didn't have any. I found it needed just a little extra pop: I topped it with fresh cilantro and just a touch more salt. It also was a bit too peanutty, and I think I will cut the peanut butter to half a cup next time like others. We didn't feel that the potatoes added anything in this, and next time I'm going to omit them or use a sweet potato instead and some diced red bell pepper, and keep the carrot. My bf liked it over brown rice, but personally I found it a bit starchy that way and I think I will serve it over steamed spinach next time. Don't misunderstand me: it's a lovely rich, creamy, luxurious dish and I very much enjoyed it, but for me I think a little bite of the spinach will make it a little more balanced and make the creaminess even more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
A very good stew. It was rather on the thick side though. The flavors were all there as well, as some spice too. I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Yum! So easy...I followed the recipe pretty closely but did take others suggestions and used chicken broth in place of the water and doubled up the cumin, coriander and red pepper. It definitely has a little kick with doubling the red pepper (not too much for me but maybe for others). I also used boneless chicken breasts and just cut it up into large chunks. I cut the peanutbutter back to about 1/2 cup and used cannellini beans because thats what was in my pantry. This is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
It was a really good dish. Quite a bit spicier than I expected, so be prepared. Would be even better over rice or couscous, would help kill some of the heat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
***** Awesome recipe! My husband loved it ( I didn't tell him there was peanut butter in it until after he had eaten some).. I added a finely diced jalapeno pepper, used sweet potato instead of white potato, white beans instead of garbanzo, and included diced celery and red pepper. The spices just made the dish though. Also I used half the amount of peanut butter that was called for. I will make it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I loved this recipe, but I do love anything with a peanut sauce. I used only about 1.5lbs of chicken tenders and chicken breast. Used a sweet potato instead, one carrot and one can of diced tomatoes. I worried the tomatoes wouldn't mix well, but they really added to it in my opinion. 1/2 cup of peanut butter seemed like enough, kept all the spices the same. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stargirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
5 stars great for a company dish Served over rice with cut up avocados and olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great flavor! Husband raved! I didnt have garbonzo beans, substituted a can of fire-roasted tomatoes with garlic. I increased the heat a little as suggested by others with a pinch of cayenne and a bit more pepper flakes. Only had storebrand peanut butter, very chunky, and it was great! try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I used chicken broth instead of the water. Cooking a whole chicken and adding it is what I recommend over using chickent breast. Absolutely a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This recipe was not bad, and definitely inspired me. However, with the spices as listed, it's too bland for my taste. I added more of everything, plus a little ginger. I also added a carrot and a can of chopped tomatoes, and substituted vegetable broth for the water, adding a little extra as per reader recommendations. I used standard, processed PB since I can't get the natural variety. It still seemed to lack something, though. I think a cilantro garnish would make a big difference, but I didn't have any. I'll see how it tastes after it's sat for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States