African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by itsfinn
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Really enjoyed this one, both to cook and eat. I used 500g of chicken breasts, and then added okra and celery to the onion/garlic/potato mix. I also added some tomatoes when the chickpeas went in, but they didn't do much (wouldn't do it again). Next time will definitely add some more spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was fantastic! We loved it with a loaf of good Italian bread and a simple salad. I used chicken broth in place of the water. Added 2 large carrots and 2 stalks of celery. I didn't have coriander seed, so I substituted a scant 1/4 tsp of caraway seed, a heaping 1/4 tsp of fennel seed, ground together in a mortar and pestle, and a 1/2 tsp of dried thyme. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Added carrots and doubled spices as others reviewers suggested. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Loved this recipe. 4 stars only because I made many of the modifications that others suggested. These included the addition of carrots celery and some canned tomatoes. Used much less peanut butter...a good heaping tablespoon was all I needed. Next time I would double the cumin and coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennylaika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was amazing!! I don't even like garbanzo beans and I loved it!! I used regular peanut butter and it still was good! i also didn't use 1 teaspoon ground coriander seed or crushed red pepper, it wasn't spicy at all! I had to add a little flower at the end to make it thicker. I also followed other peoples directions and used 2 cups of chicken broth and added corn, celery, carrots and a few extra spices of my own! i will be eating this at least 2 times a month!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Absolutely amazing! I have served this dish over and over with rave reviews and have been asked for the recipe time and time again. I did add raisins and sliced carrots (for texture) and replaced the water with the same amount of chicken broth. This is an easy and very flavorful meal that is a real family (and crowd)pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Wonderful! I followed the advice of others and used less peanut butter. I also doubled the amount of spices, tripled in some cases. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Everyone I know that I've made this for has loved it and asked for it again multiple times since then. My only change is that I use 1-2 cups of chicken broth instead of water, but I've done it with water and it's still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is an easy recipe that our whole family loved. My son who worked with people from West Africa said it reminded him of the dinners they had served him in their homes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I used frozen chicken that I had slow-cooked earlier in a crock pot. This cut down on the fat. It also meant that it was drier, so I used 3 - 4 cups of chicken broth (also frozen from the same crock pot chicken). I also didn't use oil. Next time I will not add potatoes and will add celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States