African Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was amazing!! I don't even like garbanzo beans and I loved it!! I used regular peanut butter and it still was good! i also didn't use 1 teaspoon ground coriander seed or crushed red pepper, it wasn't spicy at all! I had to add a little flower at the end to make it thicker. I also followed other peoples directions and used 2 cups of chicken broth and added corn, celery, carrots and a few extra spices of my own! i will be eating this at least 2 times a month!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Absolutely amazing! I have served this dish over and over with rave reviews and have been asked for the recipe time and time again. I did add raisins and sliced carrots (for texture) and replaced the water with the same amount of chicken broth. This is an easy and very flavorful meal that is a real family (and crowd)pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Wonderful! I followed the advice of others and used less peanut butter. I also doubled the amount of spices, tripled in some cases. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Everyone I know that I've made this for has loved it and asked for it again multiple times since then. My only change is that I use 1-2 cups of chicken broth instead of water, but I've done it with water and it's still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is an easy recipe that our whole family loved. My son who worked with people from West Africa said it reminded him of the dinners they had served him in their homes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I used frozen chicken that I had slow-cooked earlier in a crock pot. This cut down on the fat. It also meant that it was drier, so I used 3 - 4 cups of chicken broth (also frozen from the same crock pot chicken). I also didn't use oil. Next time I will not add potatoes and will add celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was a very enjoyable weeknight dinner. My 14 year old loved it. I also used chicken stock as recommended in the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved this recipe! The mix of sweet and spicy is amazing. I didn't add the potato and tasted just as good. Also added a little sugar to calm the spice down. Served over rice! Will be making again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Along with other reviews, I "basted" lobster half way through cook time with garlic butter. Cook time about 10 mins. Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This dish is absolutely amazing! Sorry for the ones who did not get the result they wanted, it`s just a matter of regulating the ingredientes according your taste! I use fresh chicken breasts, chicken broth instead water, I also added the carrots, and the fresh coriander on top to serve, and what can I say??? Thanks Leah!!! This is definitely delicious! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States