Afghan Tomato Soup (Aush Goshti) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This recipe gets mixed reviews at our house. It is one of my boyfriends absolute favorite recipes. Unfortunately, every time I eat it I end up with a horrible stomach ache and we have yet to be able to determine the cause. The recipe tastes good and I enjoy eating it, until later. Because he loves it and I don't dislike the flavor I give it three stars. If I didn't get a stomach ache after eating this I would definitely give it more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I may have strayed a bit from the original recipe based on what we had, but we had a winner for dinner tonight! I chose this because we have a huge jug of tomato juice leftover from Thanksgiving. Instead of fettucine, I used farfalle (bowties). I was nervous about all of the soups I was making tasting the same (again, all tomato juiuce-based), so to this one I added extra lemon juice - maybe 2-3 times as much - and frozen corn kernels. I could have added more dill, too. I also stirred in a teaspoon or so of paprika and of cumin. This was spicy and bright with lemon, and really good! My husband added a little parmesan to his second helping, but said that it made it taste too "mac and beef"-like, and he preferred it without the cheese topping. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah and Stuart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I made this recipe on a whim because I had a can of tomato juice in the pantry and no one wanted to drink it. I exchanged black beans for the garbanzo beans because that's all I had, and I used Trader Joe's lemon pepper pasta which really enhanced the lemon flavor. I enjoyed this as something different, but my kids didn't go for it, so I'll enjoy a whole lot of leftovers. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I really didn't like this at all. It tasted too much like tomato juice and had no depth in flavor. It reminded me of a cheap spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
No complaints. Delicious as written. The only difference with mine was that I used spinach fettuccine. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I submitted this recipe. U usually make this to feed 15-20 people and add alot more water. The starch from the pasta and tomato paste thicken it quite nicely. Also reduce the amount of fettuccine and break it into smaller sticks before you put it in. I've been making this soup for years and I still have to taste it numerous times for seasoning. What your going for is a rich flavor of lemon and dill with a spicy smoky background.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I have been wanting to make this recipe for some time. I followed it to a t except I only had dried dill. I think it needed way more salt. I also think the chili paste was lost in the dish. I would probably go with 1 or more tablespoons depending on the heat you like. The only other thing I would have done was to break up the noodles. It ended up more like fettuccine with meat sauce then a soup. Overall very good and worth making for sure. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This soup was excellent, it was a delicious change to a traditional tomato soup. I was a bit skeptical about the seasonings, but it came together with such nice flavor and nothing was over-powering. I used farfalle pasta instead of fettucine, figuring it would be easier to eat. My mistake was adding the pasta too early - next time I'll be sure to add it about 20-30 mins (max) before we're ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Simple, nice zip to it thanks to the chilli paste(be careful with that by starting out with half the amount and then adjusting it). Wouldn't change a thing. The lemon juice adds a lovely clarity and freshness to the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fountaintown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States