Afghan Beef Raviolis (Mantwo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Yummy! I was skeptical of how the textures would work together, but they melded together wonderfully. It was a bit of work, but not as much as I thought it would be. Stuffing the dumplings took the longest - everything else just had to simmer for a while. I omitted the carrot, mint and garlic because I didn't have any. I also boiled the dumplings for 2-3 min instead of steaming them, and they turned out fine. My split peas never ended up as a "slurry," maybe because I used green instead of yellow? I didn't think it would make a difference, so I just bought what was available at the store. If you make it 4 servings, it's definitely a little lighter than most Americans are used to. I had two servings and nothing else and was stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Very good, but not as good as I've experienced it at an Afghanistan restaurant. Worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I really liked this dish. It was quite different. It only took me about 50 minutes to make everything: I started the split peas while the beef was browning, I took out about a cup of the browned beef for the dumplings and started the meat sauce before I filled the dumplings,I cooked the dumplings in simmering water for about a minute per batch. I served it with roasted vegetables: eggplant, peppers, and tomatoes tossed with chopped garlic and olive oil. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Joppa, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I was ok about this recipe, but it just seemed like too much work for the reward. I boiled the raviolis as well. Just wasn't my thing I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Love the tastes, textures and colours. I, too, boiled the raviolis for 4 minutes, steaming 2 for comparison, and as long as you drain them well it's fine. Next time will try lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I love, love, love this recipe--it's my new favorite. I'd printed it out weeks ago, and talked about making it--but my husband surprised me with the meal on Valentine's Day. He made it with lamb instead of beef, which I think made it even better. He also made the pasta dough for the ravioli. It's such a gorgeous dish, with its layers of different flavors and textures. I want one of us to make it again soon (and take a picture this time!). I guess it probably would serve four, if you're not ravenous (or if you have a starter and a salad). But when I make a labor-intensive recipe like this, I want it to last--so next time I'll double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Very flavorful-I enjoyed making this recipe. Next time I will double the amount of yogurt sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I just made this recipe this evening and my husband raved about it. It was an interesting recipe to make (lots of fun) and very flavorful. We're partial to Middle Eastern food and this was an excellent dish. I made the recipe exactly as specified with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I thought that this was really good, and my husband agreed. It was easy, alot of ingredients, but not alot of prep work. I used green split peas and dried mint, and I boiled the ravioli for about 4 minutes instead of steaming (a time consideration). I used very lean ground beef, and it felt like a light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States