Affy Tapple Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Very good.Really tastes like a Taffy Apple.I took this salad to a family party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSSIER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
Surprisingly delicious. This fruit salad has a very sweet and tangy taste, and everyone who has tried it has loved it. (In fact, I've been asked to make more!) I usually make a regular fruit salad and it's in the 'fridge for days. Last night I made this one and it was gone within hours. A great fruit salad. Only thing I didn't like was the strong smell of vinegar when heating it up in the saucepan -- it stinks. But I figure I can make a LOT of the chilled mixture and use it for later, which I do like. Edited: After making it several times I just thought I'd add more to this review. I'm not much of a cook so I don't see why the vinegar is necessary, probably flavor(?), but to compensate for the terrible smell of it I use half the vinegar. Still tastes great. In fact, I add more pineapple as well. I also wanted to mention that the salad tastes MUCH better if left in the 'fridge for a day or two, when the mixture, pineapple juice, and whipped topping blends together into the apples. This way the peanuts soak up the juice as well and are not as crunchy and hard on the teeth, but enough to still add texture and flavor to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Great recipe! I've taken this to two different gatherings and it has gone over VERY well at both. This is easy to put together and adds something different to the usual potluck dishes. Thank You, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
i have been making this recipe for years (just getting around to rating it though) and everyone who has tried it, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I love, love, love this salad. My kids love it too (but I have to make a bowl with peanuts for me and without for them.) I make it with all granny smith apples to get a contrasting tartness to the sweetness, and good unsalted peanuts are hard to come by, so I go ahead and use salted and it comes out really good anyway. Also, I use about double the pineapple and extra creamy cool whip...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Yummy combination of flavors and textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAPATTEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
Have made this several times (at least a dozen), and each time there is never any left! It's quite unique really and goes well with any dish. Would even be great as a desert. This is a wonderful salad for potlucks, very easy to prepare, takes no time at all. Why not try it just once, while everyone else is bringing jello or potato salad--be different. Promise it will get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This was ok. I had a salad similar to this a long time ago and have been trying to find one as good as the original. This was not it. All it seemed to be was apple. My husband ate quite a bit of it, but I think I will try a few more recipes that are similar but with different variations until I find one I REALLY like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe. You must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
The BEST dessert salad I've ever eaten. Not much effort goes into making this dish and the results will leave you very pleased!!! There will never be any leftover apple salad at my house!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States