Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ChefJuliAnn
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Yum .. what a treat. The family loved it on this cold sunday morning! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Love this recipe, I made a couple of minor changes, I replaced sugar with honey, and use coconut oil which gives a nice flavor. Also, while they are cooking, I put a little piece of cream cheese in the middle. So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donald Martinez

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
For the first time aebleskiver maker: There are pans made out of other materials, too, but they are more difficult to maintain a consistent temperature. Cast iron is best. In the Midwest, aebleskiver pans can be found in hardware stores. I double the recipe and use two aebleskiver pans to make more of them in a short time for a family of 6. I also have a silicone handle cover available to use over the cast iron pan handles as needed. I set my stove burner between 4 and 5 and give it plenty of time to get to an even heat. You don't want to add the oil (or solid Crisco, which is what I prefer to use; it's quicker & easier than pouring) until the pan is already hot. Be prepared to put your aebleskiver batter into the pan very shortly after that. I think that a gas stove works best, but I place a wire or steel unit 'platform' over the flame just to help stabilize the aebleskiver pan securely over the gas flame. I use a long metal skewer to turn the aebleskiver. To turn, you put the skewer right through the aebleskiver and flip it over. I would not use 1 T. of oil for each pan. For the first pan, maybe, but after that, maybe more like a teaspoon of the solid Crisco. Put the batter into the pan starting in the same hole each time, and ending with the middle because that one will cook a little faster than the ones around the outside of the pan. I dust each platter of them with powdered sugar. Serve with applesauce too. A Christmas morning tradition for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
DO NOT SUB ANYTHING FOR THE BUTTERMILK! Milk with lemon juice makes sour milk, not buttermilk. I feel like I can give a pretty good review after using this recipe three times. The first time I made these I didn't have quite enough buttermilk so I used 1/2 cup of milk with 1 1/2 cups of buttermilk. Although tasty, in the end, they were not pretty and I made a huge mess because the batter was a bit runny. The second and third times I made these I noticed a big difference in the thickness of the batter using all buttermilk. It was more like muffin batter except fluffier. I used a cookie dough scooper to transfer the batter from the bowl to the pan. The only change to the recipe each time is that I did not use one tablespoon of oil in each well. If I had, there would not have been any room for batter. I used about 1/4 teaspoon of clarified butter in each well and then used a silicone pastry brush to make sure that not only the wells were covered but also the entire top of the pan because the batter does puff up and sometimes overrun the wells. About the fillings: we found that we like them plain with a sprinkle of powdered sugar and a choice of toppings. Some like thinned jam and others like maple or pancake syrup. Thank you Lisa G.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I found a gorgeous cast-iron aebelskiver pan at the thrift store and went searching for recipes. This is the perfect one! Not too sweet, so perfect for savory and sweet fillings alike. We did plain, fresh raspberry, fresh blueberry, nectarine butter (like apple butter), and sausage gravy. I didn't get perfect spherical balls, but I'm sure it's more of a technique issue than a recipe issue. These taste like the ones from my childhood! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Tried this recipe this morning and it was excellent. I made three alterations: I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the batter, used butter in the pan instead of oil, and used milk "soured" with white vinegar instead of buttermilk (what I had on hand). The recipe made 7 batches of 7, so a total of 49 delicious puff pancakes. My three kids devoured them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Though I was raised in the US, I'm half-Danish and have lived in Denmark so I know æbleskiver! This is a good recipe, though I have two small recommendations: 1) Add a little cardamom to make it more traditional. 2) An extra egg white won't hurt if you want them to be a little fluffier. One more thing - use butter for the pan! It's part of what makes æbleskiver taste so delicious. Make sure the butter is clarified or it will burn. To clarify butter, slowly heat it until it bubbles and all the white solids rise to the top, then gently skim them off (cheesecloth is the preferred method if you want to do a really good job). I also recommend that you use unsalted butter because it is typically fresher than salted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Very easy to make. Loved the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Don't have the actual pan but making small pancakes of the batter is still awesome; my daughter call them æble-cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States