Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
If you've never had Aebleskivers you are missint out! Great recipe. I topped mine with a mixture of fresh/frozen strawberries and fresh whipped cream. A delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Just got an aebleskiver pan (cast iron) and used this recipe to try them out. We don't drink milk, so I subbed in vanilla soy milk + lemon juice for the buttermilk, and replaced one cup of flour with whole wheat. I also used Pam to grease the wells instead of oil or butter. The first batch stuck a bit, but the remaining 4 batches came out perfectly. I filled some with nutella and some with blueberry jam. My husband ate his with maple syrup, I ate mine with raspberry jam - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These aebelskivers came out perfectly - light, fluffy and moist on the inside and slightly crispy on the outside. Thanks for a great recipe. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is a favorite from my husbands family. we also put oil on a papertowel and rub each indention with that instaed of using so much oil. We also use a chop stick to turn these...works best! I added a small bit of vanilla and served these with warm ample syrup (I did not have powdered sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ Speaks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This was soooo yummy. Hubby got an aebleskiver pan for Christmas so we tried this out. I had to make the batter, but he cooked it. It was a little hard to tell when it was time to flip (hubby likes to keep the fire too high, on everything). I found it easiest if we put some powdered sugar (we also used cinnamon sugar) in a gallon size baggie and shook the aebleskivers in the bags of sugar when they were done. Very light and yummy. Definitely use butter and brush the pan with butter instead of using oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This batter tastes wonderful but DO NOT USE OIL in each indent...especially that much. I have the typical sized aebleskiver pan and they turned out to be a bunch of little grease balls..they aren't supposed to have so much of a fried texture. Use a little bit of butter instead, and make sure the pan isn't too hot (medium to low heat). Since mine is a heavy cast iron pan it retains the heat really well and it if you have the heat too high it'll cook them unevenly and can be a bit messy. GREAT recipe other than that though, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Super easy recipe for Sunday morning breakfast. Kids love it when I pur peanut butter in the middle of some and jam in others. I especially like lemon curd! Great little taste suprise. Ingredients are easily had at the home without shopping for anything special. Have them plain, with warmed maple sryup or dust with powered sugar (my personal favorite). Pans are not expense and Williams Sonoma sells them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I've used this recipe once before and we really enjoyed it. When I was little, my grandmother's church would make these at the county fair and sell as their yearly fundraiser. She's passed on now, but my daughters love hearing the story of me helping sell them while we make our own. One question: Can this batter be made in advance and put into the frig? For how long and does it effect it at all?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Excellent recipe! First had these some 25 years ago in high school when a friend's mom made them. A couple of years later I fell in love with Solvang and bought a pan of my own. I've only made them sporadically over the years but this recipe is a keeper and will get these tasty morsels on our table more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Stone Strachan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
We are not Danish but this is a family tradition and has been through my husband's life...we searched for a recipe to be perfect and this is it! His mom gave me the pan when we got married, and we have been trying to figure out the best recipe since. 9 years and we found it! Light fluffy and delicious! you can use EVOL too, it doesn't have to be butter, that is not true! Figure out what you like...we make some with fruit inside, some without, we have all kinds of toppings for dipping (sugar, cinnamon-sugar, confectioner's sugar, maple syrup, whatever we have on-hand)...just figure out what your family likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerre Gadoury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States