Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My first time out with my new pan. I wasn't too thrilled with this recipe, I'm going to keep looking and experimenting. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon, which only made the batter a darker color that wasn't as pretty. I doubled the sugar and it still wasn't sweet enough. I did not put oil into the wells, simply sprayed with Pam and they didn't stick at all. I filled the cups up to the top and they came out perfectly round on both sides, nice shape, now just need to find the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was really pretty easy and SOO delicious! Added 1 tsp of cinnamon to batter. We filled them with blueberries, then strawberries, then mini Reese's cups. Yum! We dipped them in powdered sugar, and brown sugar/cinnamon mixture. Put the extra in the fridge, so hopefully they are still good tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Just a little tip: My great-grandmother added a teaspoon of cardamom to the yolk-mix. It gives a warm, fragrant flavor to them. It sounds odd, but you should try it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe was really fun. The pan can be found at amazon or Williams sonoma. I am not much of a breakfast person, but thought my family would enjoy these. Followed directions except, I sprayed the pan with veg oil. I also used a 2 tlbsoon ice cream scoop to fill each pan indention. Byw baking powder and soda are pretty much the same thing, not sure why a recipe would have both. I think this indicates that this is a realold ffamily recipe. Turning with the skewer was fun too. Tastes about like fluffy pancakes, but fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Great fun to make and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I am Scandinavian (Swedish and Norwegian) and was given my Aebleskiver pan for Christmas. I couldn't wait to give it a try! They are a cross between donut holes and pancakes. The recipe states to turn them quickly (which I did the first two times I made them), but after doing some research I have learned that if you turn the pancake onto its side for about 30 seconds before completely turning over to the otherside, it will produce a more round shape. It does make a difference. I used the point of two steak knifes to turn them (I couldn't find my knitting needles!), and then a spoon to remove them when done. I can't wait to make them for my grandchildren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These taste just the way I remember from when I was a kid! I got a pan a few years ago, however, I had no idea how to make them and the few times I attempted it, it did not go well. These worked great! I didn't have buttermilk so I added two table spoons of vinegar to two cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MyMomentaryFancy
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Great basic recipe, especially if you are going to be filling yours with apples, cream cheese filling, preserves or other choice fillings. My experience with the first batch went really well with the taste being plain and somewhat "eggy" but still very good with powdered sugar on them. Before filling the pan again, I added a tsp vanilla, two tsp more of sugar and a dash of pumpkin pie spice. I made two with chopped pecans inside and drizzled with carmel topping along side some whipped cream (canned - admittedly) Wow what a difference. This is the recipe I will continue using - definately a big thank you to the contributor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyMomentaryFancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I had great success with these. I experimented with the temp. of the stove top and had the best results around medium to medium-low heat. Certainly not difficult and delicious to make. I didn't bother filling them with anything (no jams, chocolate, or caramel pieces this time) and added about 1/2 teaspoon each of cinnamon and cardamom to the batter--traditional Dutch flavorings from what I understand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These were delicious! I love this recipe! I didn't have any buttermilk ... in fact, I was totally out of regular milk ... but I DID have 3 hungry kids, so I used 1 cup homemade plain yogurt and 1 cup reconsituted evaporated milk plus 1 tsp lemon juice. I'm sure they're just as delicious with the buttermilk, but am offering this substitution in case anyone can benefit from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
My family loves these. We break from the Danish tradition and sometimes substitute these for pancakes...even though these are not actually pancakes. I have this fancy cast iron Aebleskiver pan in my kitchen that just calls out to me every now and again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States