Aebleskiver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These were very good with powdered sugar on them, however I would suggest increasing the sugar to 2 Tablespoons. We had these in Pella IA and I remember them being sweeter than these were. I made some regular, then added a bit of peanut butter to some and added some Nutella to some. All were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY1876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lost Nation, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Canola oil works just as well as butter. MMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
If I *ever* get the hang of properly turning these, I'll make over and over again. Only giving a 4 as the oil is not necessary - I used Pam with no sticking problem - I just can't get them to set properly after flipping. Made horrid mess trying to add applesauce so don't recommend. Added cinnamon (lovely) - had no buttermilk, but regular milk worked just fine. Also forgot to add butter with no adverse effect on taste. Will keep trying. Vanilla would be great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I am glad for the reviewers who advised using a small amount of butter instead all the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
My first time out with my new pan. I wasn't too thrilled with this recipe, I'm going to keep looking and experimenting. I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon, which only made the batter a darker color that wasn't as pretty. I doubled the sugar and it still wasn't sweet enough. I did not put oil into the wells, simply sprayed with Pam and they didn't stick at all. I filled the cups up to the top and they came out perfectly round on both sides, nice shape, now just need to find the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was really pretty easy and SOO delicious! Added 1 tsp of cinnamon to batter. We filled them with blueberries, then strawberries, then mini Reese's cups. Yum! We dipped them in powdered sugar, and brown sugar/cinnamon mixture. Put the extra in the fridge, so hopefully they are still good tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Just a little tip: My great-grandmother added a teaspoon of cardamom to the yolk-mix. It gives a warm, fragrant flavor to them. It sounds odd, but you should try it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe was really fun. The pan can be found at amazon or Williams sonoma. I am not much of a breakfast person, but thought my family would enjoy these. Followed directions except, I sprayed the pan with veg oil. I also used a 2 tlbsoon ice cream scoop to fill each pan indention. Byw baking powder and soda are pretty much the same thing, not sure why a recipe would have both. I think this indicates that this is a realold ffamily recipe. Turning with the skewer was fun too. Tastes about like fluffy pancakes, but fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Great fun to make and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I am Scandinavian (Swedish and Norwegian) and was given my Aebleskiver pan for Christmas. I couldn't wait to give it a try! They are a cross between donut holes and pancakes. The recipe states to turn them quickly (which I did the first two times I made them), but after doing some research I have learned that if you turn the pancake onto its side for about 30 seconds before completely turning over to the otherside, it will produce a more round shape. It does make a difference. I used the point of two steak knifes to turn them (I couldn't find my knitting needles!), and then a spoon to remove them when done. I can't wait to make them for my grandchildren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These taste just the way I remember from when I was a kid! I got a pan a few years ago, however, I had no idea how to make them and the few times I attempted it, it did not go well. These worked great! I didn't have buttermilk so I added two table spoons of vinegar to two cups of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States