Aebleskiver (Danish Pancakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I remember these from my childhood in Germany where they were eaten around New Years. I agree with one of the other people that the whole wheat flour in this recipe makes it to heavy. I used half white and half whole wheat and found they tasted close to what I remember! Mind you next time ( and there will definitely be a next time) I will make them with only the white flour as they are suppose to be a sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
In my experience aebleskivers taste almost like a crepe. These were dense and bready, more like spherical pancakes. Next time I'll add more egg and liquid to the batter. Might have to separate and beat the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
They taste really great with the spices in them and love that it has the whole wheat flour. My whole family loves these with chocolate in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
this was wonderful. Our family adds fruit pie filling and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I thought this recipe was very good. I used half whole wheat flour and half white flour and doubled the recipe. I filled them with apricot jam and some with chocolate chips or nutella. Sprinkled them with a small amount of powdered sugar. All were very good. I will save this recipe and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I love aebleskivers, but the whole wheat flour in this recipe makes them super dense ( not a good thing). They were solid balls of dough, not the fluffy, donut-like consistency I associate with aebskivers. Using whole wheat flour sounds like a great idea because it will make it healthy, but I don't think it's worth it... These have lots of butter and sugar in them anyways, so they're not going to be a health food... Perhaps a Better, and much tastier option, is being sure to serve them with lots of fruit on the side. I don't recommend this recipe, at least not with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
As a teenager my friends would get together and have Aebleskivers made by one of the grand Mother of one of the kids. We loved them hot with butter in the middle of the round pancake. I'm excited about making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
My first try at aebleskivers and it was sooo easy!!! The taste was light AND flavorful. Fun to make.... I filled pan wells 1/2 full then added 1/2 tsp homemade jam & topped off with 1 tsp of mix. I am so excited I want to make them for dinner & breakfast. You could add little chuncks of link sausage or apples or .... whatever! Possibilites are endless. GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States