Adzimka Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I read the earlier review and added about 1/2 cup chopped onion, as well as additional cheese. It was really delicious and everyone had seconds. Overall it was time consuming, but worth it for a treat. The bread itself was also great. It makes enough for six to 10 people, depending on the size of the pieces. Although, I still don't know what a pinweel looks like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I divided the dough in half to have a thin crust bread, using honey for the sweetener and only whole wheat flour. Then, when I got ready to cook the potatoes, I thought about leaving them in raw slices. I also read the reviews that suggested to add onions. I don't know if I'm qualified to leave an excellent review because I made so many changes! I have raw potato slices, fresh jalapeno slices, sliced Bermuda onion and sliced garlic under all the cheese. It was a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
This was very tasty! The bread came out perfect - soft near the potatoe filling and the right amout of firmness on the shell. I am unsure about the pinwheel shape as well -- just made my own version of a pinwheel. I did add onions, minced garlic, and some garlic powder to the potatoe filling. YUMMY! Definitely worth the afternoon it took to prepare it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
this was great, exactly as described. it was chewy but soft but definately a meal in itself!! tastes exactly like a mash potato sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
What a great recipe and a GORGEOUS creation!!! It is beautiful to behold. I took it out of the oven and my two year old son was enchanted right away! The recipe was as easy as any bread recipe to follow and execute. My only hesitation would be the bland-ness of the taste. I recomment saute-ing onions and garlic and adding it to the mashed potatoes. Also, more cheese is in order!! f you want to change it up a bit or serve it as a beautiful breakfast or brunch, add some ham!!! Other than that, this recipe is the best I've made in quite some time! The family LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This was a fun project, but it turned out to be somewhat bland. I am going to add lots of GARLIC, ONIONS, and whatever else to my next batch to give it some more character! I recommend that you do the same!!! Also, it makes a LOT of food, so be prepared for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This was certainly different and interesting. And I liked it just as is, without adding anything. I used red potatoes as that's what I had, so I'm not sure how that would compare to "6" regular potatoes, but I have a feeling that would be too many. A hearty bread. I do know what a pinwheel is, but it didn't really seem to work right, but the attempt at one still made for an interesting looking loaf. Unfortunately quite time consuming, or I'd make it more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 only because I doctored the mashed potatoes up quite a bit. Like other reviewers suggested, I added garlic, bacon, onions and extra cheese. That being said, the dough was FANTASTIC and in addition to being tasty, it was so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
The concept is great, but like other reviewers, I did think that 1/2 c of cheese would not be nearly enough, so I more than doubled that. Also added more onion and lots of garlic to the mashed potatoes. I just kept tasting the mashed potatoes and adding more garlic until it tasted like I wanted it, before I put it on the dough. It was great with those additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Well, I was skeptical when I looked at the recipe, but I always just always try new ones and so I did. I've been baking breads for 38 years now and love it.This recipe was a complete waste of my time, but I'm glad I tried it because now I know. I added carmelized onion and baked garlic to enhance what appeared to be a rather bland dish. The dish was still very bland, and the idea of mashed potatoes encased in a dough didn't sound appetizing and it wasn't. No one in our family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States