Adult Watermelon for BBQ's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Wanting to try this for a party this Saturday. Is everyone really using an entire bottle of Vodka? I just don't want the watermelon pieces to taste like pure alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My grandpa and his brothers used to do this when they'd all go out and spend the day on the river. They'd sink the watermelon in the river while they'd have a good time, then pull it up and it'd be ice cold and ready to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was my first time doing it and I found that the vodka didn't really soak in much. I was told later to let the extra juice from the watermelon drain before adding the vodka. It was still a big hit, but I had to let the watermelon soak for 2 days to try and get any alcohol to soak in; I also poked holes with a chop stick to give the liquid a direction to flow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
After reading about folks struggling to get desired results, I tried to follow the review that suggested cutting a small lid out of the melon, scooping out the flesh, straining the juice, and then mixing in limeade and vodka together in the melon. But my melon cracked apart the second I went to cut it. So I went ahead and strained the juice out of the flesh, and put it into a clear pitcher so we'd see the nice pink color. My melon was small and I got a little under a half gallon of juice. I mixed in about 6oz of frozen limeade, 2 cups vodka, and 1/4 cup sweetened lime juice. Wonderful! Even though this idea strays from the original recipe, you still get the watermelon/booze combo, which is what we're all looking for anyway. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Did what other's said and cut it up after it wasn't soaking through the tiny hole at first. I used watermelon schnapps and coconut rum. Oh my was it good!? Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momwholovestocook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I'm giving it 4 stars because the watermelon didn't absorb the vodka (used vodka instead of rum) at all. I had put my watermelon initially into a bowl that fit it and the bowl had all the vodka at the bottm after a few hours. I decided then to take out the watermelon, cube it and pour the remaining vodka onto it. It was STRONGGGGG, I used watermelon vodka. will made again maybe with more fruit other than watermelon. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
We have done this at 2 parties (Adults Only!) and enjoyed it very much!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Thanks for the great Idea but It didnt go as well as I hoped. I cut a small hole in the top and just inverted a vodka bottle in it and let it sit in the fridge overnight. The next morning I got it out and none of the vodka had seeped in. I did what this recipe called for and used a funnel. It still didnt want to go inside the watermelon. From reading the mixed reviews from some people it worked for and others like me that it didnt. The only thing I can think of is maybe the juiciness of the watermelon. Mine was pretty juicy, so it may not of let anymore liquid in. So I just cut it all up and threw some different rums over it to get the spiked effect. It was okay for me. Honestly I thought it ruined the watermelon flavor. But its a great idea and I may try to make it again sometime! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Never could master this one...we would cut a hole the size of the bottle and tip the vodka bottle right in to it. It seemed to never get past that center part of the melon..and...whoa...it was awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
had fiance make it, he ended up putting in a very high proof vodka and alot of it too. i couldn't eat the very middle parts, and he's not into drinking hard liquors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sliced Watermelon Jell-O® Shots

See how to super-fun watermelon Jell-O shots. They’re cute with a kick!

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

The Guatermelon Especial Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a refreshing rum and watermelon cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States