Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
awesome and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Cut down on spice; for 6 used 2 cans coconut milk and 2 chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Great! However, too much Bok Choy. Would have liked it as a garnish, not so much bulk. Also, added another can of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PurushaNatasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this last night with no substitutions (other than ginger powder instead of fresh). I added a little more chicken, but that's it. I wasn't wowed, but my husband loved it! Next time I would reduce the water and add more coconut milk so it is creamier. I would also add some lime juice at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was really good! The only ingredient I did not have was the fish sauce. I also made this with pork instead of chicken. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Fantastic! This soup is both mine and my boyfriends favorite soup EVER. I substituted the bok choy for one red bell pepper, and 2 cups mushrooms. Also I left out the fish sauce, and used regular oil both due to allergies... Still turned out perfect! Just like at a Thai restaurant. Season with lemon juice to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This may not be perfectly authentic, but I was fairly pleased with the result. The instructions to cook chicken breast for a half hour after it's basically fully cooked in the pan, though, can only result in a tough piece of chicken. So I think I would change the order..first cook the spices, then the veg, then add the liquid and *then* toss in the chicken. I made some substitutions here because I didn't have everything the recipe called for. So I'm rating this more for the method than the specific flavor of the exact combo of ingredients. I took off one star for the tough chicken. We served ours with Quinoa, which was interesting but maybe not the most successful. I also did not have lemongrass, which I think would have been lovely. But this method is a great use of bok choy, it goes very well with the coconut milk and fish sauce and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Followed this recipe for the most part-- doubled it. I didn't buy Bok Choy because I had a head of green cabbage, so I shredded about 1/2- 3/4 cup and added it. Also added approx 2 cups of uncooked prawns. I added gralic chili paste to my soup, as well as a big spoonful of Tom ka Gai soup base. As a side, I cooked a pot of jasmine BROWN rice, adding 1T. Costco chicken base in the jar. Ground up roasted peanuts to serve on top of the cooked rice. My sweetie put a big scoop of peanut-topped rice in his bowl then ladled the soup on top. I added a squeeze of a meyer's lemon to my bowl and an additional scant of the garlic-chili paste. Both tasted excellent. My honey's was nuttier! As for the cabbage, it tasted fine in our soup, but I would def use the Bok Choy from now on for a more authentic flavor and texture. I felt like the shredded cabbage just wasn't right for this soup, and I don't think chopped cabbage is either. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I have made this soup many times and it is a big hit with my picky husband. I gave 4 starts only because I do change a few things. I couldnt find lemon grass the 1st time so I used just a little lemon juice and insted of chicken breast I use ground turkey sausage and a shalot insted of onion because it is not as stong. I do use a whole good, full head of bok choy and like the picture I cook a pot of jasimine rice as a filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Walker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States