Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Absolutely delicious, I loved this recipe. I followed the recipe except for using chicken stock instead of water and regular coconut milk instead of lite. I also added noodles and cut the amount of fish sauce in half as I'm not a fan. Be careful not to cut the lemongrass into really small chunks as you'll only have to fish them out again! Anyway this dish was really nice and my I'm going to make this a regular dish! Definitely make more than you think you'll need as it goes really fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I served this with Chicken Satay and Peanut Butter noodles. My husband said this is the best meal I have ever cooked. It was delicious! I also got to impress some of my friends with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Excellent!! I love this!! i can never have enough of this! don't get put off by the smell of the fish sauce, once it's in the soup it tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
My husband four children and I are BIG fans of Thai food in general, but after relocating to a small town in the Blue Ridge Mountains have been missing that good Thai food we had been used to. I gave this recipe a try last night for an "Asian potluck" It was a MAJOR hit, and the whole family called it a "keeper" Next time I think I will half the cumin since we are not big on it, and increase the lemon grass a bit. hint: I wasnt able to find fresh lemon grass in the supermarket, but found it in a tube in the refridgerator section of my supermarket, actually where the produce is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
second time i've made this... gives the house a great aroma! i used chicken stock instead of water and doubled the onion. it's amazing with rice. very easy work considering the delicious end result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Almost perfect. It is probably fine with the gingerroot but should really have galanga instead to taste authentic - just remember to remove before eating. Wonderful aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great recipe. I use chicken stock in place of the water, and i ease up a bit on the fish sauce. Plus I add shrimp. I love this recipe. It's the ultimate comfort soup... Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Sugar & Spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
To make it more authentic I omit the ginger onion, cumin and the bok choy. I added galanga (similar looking to ginger, sold as dry and fresh mushroom and a tablespoon of thai roasted chili paste. {prik pow}and squuze fresh lime juice before serving. I guaranteed that it will be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Wow!!! Don't be shy of the fish sauce...it added a lot of flavor! I made this recipe without the chicken and instead grilled some shrimp for the top (I had a vegitarian friend over). I also added jullianed carrots and thin rice noodles. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Yum... I have been looking for a soup recipe like this since I have become obsessed with Noodles Restaurants "Thai Curry Soup". I too made some modifications... used chicken broth instead of water for starters plus one can of lite coconut milk. For veggies added shredded carrots, exotic mushroom medley, bok choy, green peppers, and lots of cilantro. Sauteed chicken with veggies, peanut oil, spices, garlic, shredded ginger. Used regular lemon grass stalks... scored them and dropped in the cooking soup for flavor (to be removed later). Instead of red pepper added about a teaspoon of spicy green Thai curry paste and also 1 tsp fish sauce. Finally to bring the coconut flavor to life I added 2 tsps. of sugar. YUM! Next time I will add sugar snap peas. It was so good I didn't even need to add noodles like I had originally planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States