Adrienne's Overnight Barbecued Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was very good, mine was done when I got home and still shredded easily after eight hours. Yummy, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This made some really great barbecue. Great tangy smokey flavor. Nice blend of flavors and it was a hit with my family. Both my husband and son ate seconds. I used a chuck roast, hickory liquid smoke and substituted dried minced onion and some onion powder for the real stuff. The only change I would make is to thicken the sauce more as it needed more body, maybe more cornstarch? I loved that this used a homemade sauce and not some bottled stuff, thanks Adrienne, we really liked this barbecue! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Very good. I'm not very experienced at all and found this recipe very easy and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This got great reviews from everyone that tried it. I substituted an old beef roast for the brisket and also whisked the cornstarch right into the crockpot at the end (not sure how much I used -- I just kept dumping in a little at a time 'til I had a nice thick consistency). This made a lot that way and was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Excellent choice. I modified this recipe in the following manner. I marinated the meet for 3 days, then smoked it for 12 hours between 200-220. I wrapped meet in tinfoil for an hour and kept it in warming oven while I made the sauce. From the fat drippings I caramelized one large onion, then added chicken broth, and the remaining marinade and boiled that down to a gravy. Note, I didn't use corn starch because it would have reduced the flavor of the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Delicious! Served this for my son's 13th birthday to family & friends. Grandma & Auntie asked for the recipe :) We froze some & did add a splash of bbq sauce to liven up the flavor before serving, a few weeks later. Thanks for a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I have to admit I was sceptical about this recipe, it has a lot of ingredients, then while it was cooking it smelled great, but looked like a chunk of beef in soup: very watery. But I continued on and followed the directions shredding the beef and thickening the sauce. It was absolutely delish! I might add a few more drops of liquid smoke, as we prefer a more mesquite taste, but I wouldn't change anything else. Got rave review by the family as well, and they were actually looking forward to the leftovers. Definate keeper - Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BELFLOREK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Born and raised Southerner so you know I'm big on barbecue, and picking up the cooking hobby but not so skilled yet, and I just wanted to thank you for posting your recipe. Easy to prepare, easy to shop for, and absolutely amazing. It was the hit of our LSU tailgate this week, and I'm pulling it out for one of the bigger games later this season. I may have even added a little too much liquid smoke and Worcestershire, and didn't finely-chop the onions enough, but it still came out amazing. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
The meat got really tender and juicy, but the flavor was terrible. Way too sweet for a beef dish. Had to rinse the meat off and add some bbbq sauce to the rest of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Adrienne, this is awesome!!!! I tried exactly as written (always do this first time before making changes) and found it to be incredible. It was even better the next day after the meat soaked in the wonderful sauce all night. I plan to do this again and again. Next time I might caramelize the onions first if I have time. Also, I did not have the 10 hours needed so I cooked it on high for 4 hours and then low for 2. The meat wasn't as tender as it probably would have been had I had the whole 10 hours to just cook it on low. Next time, I'll plan ahead. One great thing about your recipe is I had all the ingredients on hand - no special trip to the store needed. Even my picky husband who isn't a huge brisket fan went back for seconds! My mom wanted me to tell you that she loved it too :). Kudos!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States