Adrienne's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! Only thing I changed was decreasing the amount of dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msghd
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
My brother has been on a cooking spree lately and whipped up this great dish one day. He didn't add dill and let it marinate over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msghd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Reduced to 2 servings - used 1 english cucumber & 1 Tablespoon of fresh dill then left everything else as written, adding a rounded 1/4 tsp. of kosher salt. After marinating in the fridge for 2 hours this was very tasty & truly refreshing served alongside our potato-crusted tilapia & brown basmati rice! Next time I may reduce the sugar slightly, leave out the dill & add a little fresh ginger to make it more like the Sunomono we love at the Japanese restaurants, or even add carrots & daikon & use it to stuff Banh-Mi sammies...but I'll also continue to make it just like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very good and simple-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a refreshing alternative to having pickles. So light and slightly sweet. It's a great side dish at a bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very good salad...it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to mimic a marinated cucumber side dish that I've had at Thai restaurants. This one hits the nail on the head- exactly the taste I was looking for! I use a mandolin to slice the cucumbers and onions really thin. Make sure you make enough of the "liquid" to cover all of your sliced veggies. You can pour off some of the liquid after it has marinated overnight as it will be quite watery. Very good flavor- whoever said it needed oil and salt are out of their minds- this is perfect as is for this type of salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Super YUM! I really enjoyed this a lot, especially the trip down (childhood) memory lane! :) Since I was the only one eating this (my hubs does not like cucumbers), I just used one large English cucumber and less than half of a white onion. As Chef Joy did, I too adjusted the marinade ratios: 1/2 c. vinegar, 1/4 c. sugar, 1/4 c. water & 1/2 t dill. I also seasoned my cut cuke with 1/2 T salt, allowed it to "sweat" for a couple of hours, poured off the water (did not rinse) and then proceeded as directed. For those of you who think this is too watery, sweating beforehand IS the answer (FYI, salt draws OUT water). NOTE: English cucumbers are a better choice here. Although not totally seedless, they contain less of them and are therefore not as bitter as their regular, waxy counterparts. There are many differences between the two, but this is the main one. Look for English cuckes near the regular variety, wrapped in plastic. One more thing.... It is not necessary to allow everything to marinate overnight, but do refrigerate for at least a couple of hours (I marinated my salad for 5-6). Served with grilled hot dogs & macaroni & cheese, this was a delicious summer meal. I'm definitely adding this to my recipe box. Thanks JSCHMAND! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very good - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Delicious. I have made this a number of times. Very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States