Adrienne's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Very easy and good! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I skip the onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was a 5 star recipe even though I didn't read the instructions til just now, so I didn't heat my vinegar solution up at all. Will do next time as I know that'll infuse the veggies with even more flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I was looking for a recipe of this to replicate something my aunt made a few years ago. I found a bunch of recipes, but settled on this one because of the helpful reviews that suggested different vinegar to sugar to water ratios. I'm sure this exact recipe would have been just as good, but I think others should at least double the liquid to completely cover the cukes and onions. I ended up using 2 cups of vinegar, 1 cup of water, only a teaspoon of dill, and 1 and 1/4 cups of sugar, but if you want less sweetness then 3/4 cups is probably good. Also, it probably depends on how you store them to marinate. I portioned the cucumbers and onions into mason jars and then poured the vinegar solution on top, which left me with a little extra liquid. Also, I do suggest sprinkling the cucumbers with salt immediately after slicing them and letting them set for an hour or two to draw out extra liquid in the cukes which would otherwise dilute the vinegar solution. I would also let them marinate overnight at least. Other recipes I looked at suggested an ideal 24 hours for marinating, but 1 hour is just not enough for the vinegar solution to penetrate in my opinion. Anyway, they were a big hit at dinner. Even my cucumber-hating father liked them and told me that I was the only person in 50 years that could get him to eat a cucumber. Job well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was very easy to make and a very good side dish. I used about 15 drops of stevia instead of the sugar to keep it sugar-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Omnivore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
The hardest part is slicing the cucumbers. I would recommend organic cukes if you have them. Delicious and great for a summer potluck as it does not require reheating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
The best Cucumber salad. Love this recipe. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Carlisle, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Found this recipe on here two year's ago, and now every spring when the garden get's planted, we wait for the first fresh cucumber's to grow so we can make this wonderful salad. This has become a staple in our fridge. Have tried other recipes and they just don't taste as good as this one. This will stay with my family for year's to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These were somewhat enjoyable, but really just tasted like pickles. Good pickles, but not really a salad that I would want to eat a whole serving of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States