Adrienne's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This was fantastic. I've grown up on a couple different versions of cucumber salad (love the sour cream/dill version as well but trying to cut back on the calories!). Prior to making the salad - per my usual procedure - the cucumbers were sliced, salted with kosher salt, weighted with a plate and left to drain in a wire colander for at least an hour. I always rinse and let drain after (pressing with a clean dish towel), because I'm pretty sensitive to salty tastes. I always use English cucumbers, as well. The salad was GREAT, and has turned out equally well with both vidalia and red onions. I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup, which to my tastes was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Great basic recipe. I followed Cook' s Illustrated suggestion and salted the thinly sliced cucumbers, placed them in a colander and set a water filler 1 gallon ziplock bag on top of the cucumbers. Let then drain for 1-3 hours. That way a lot of the moisture is drained and you are less likely to water down the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vaunce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Very good. Use all rice vinegar. Only used 3 cucumber that was plenty. Salt and pepper prior to pouring sauce on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I've been making this recipe for a while now. Every summer we grow cucumbers in our garden, and this is a great way to use them. I always slice the cucumbers using the blade on the side of my box grater, so that they are all thin and uniform. I slice up a large red onion, and before pouring the boiling vinegar mixture over the top of the cukes and onions, I season them well with kosher salt. Instead of just using dried dill, I use a 'lemon and dill' seasoning that I get online from Cherchies, and I use it pretty liberally. The amounts for sugar/water/vinegar are perfect, and I absolutely ALWAYS make this the day before we plan to eat it for the first time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I just love this type of cucumber salad. It is fresh and easy to make. I do however sprinkle one to one and a half tsp of kosher salt over the very thinly sliced cucumbers, wait ten min, drain the water from the cucumbers (no rinsing) before adding the hot vinegar. I also double the dry dill (I like the dill flavor) and add a couple dashes of white pepper. Yum. Much better than any oil based vinegar dressing and the salad just keeps improving the longer it is marinated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I made the recipe as listed with one exception...I replaced all the sugar with about a 1/4 teaspoon of pure stevia. It was delicious! It tastes a lot like bread and butter pickles, in my opinion. My kids loved it too. They polished off the entire batch in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
used 6 cucumbers, one white tomato, one T dill, and doubled vinegar, water and sugar. Sweat cucumbers first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
DELICIOUS !!!! I made this for a 4th of July BBQ, and everyone loved it. There wasn't a cucumber left! Marinating this overnight really brings out the flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made Adrienne's Cucumber Salad for a cook-out with friends and it was a hit. I added few fresh chives and more dill. The taste was superior. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Family and friends love this recipe. I did salt and drain the cucs, but that's the only thing I did differently... I plan to try to put these up in jars. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States