Adrienne's Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Great recipe but I had to.double the vinegar, water, sugar solution
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This (or something like it) was a regular summertime presence in the refrigerator as I was growing up. I don't think Mom knew Adrienne (and I'm not sure Mom's "recipe" was exactly the same), but ... it's cooling in my fridge at the moment. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This recipe is awesome! I use apple cider vinegar and it brings it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Smiths Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I made this recipe and it was very good. will keep making this for sure. Garden cucumbers is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rowney Hale Connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Just like cabbage for slaw you need to 'sweat' the cucumber first. If you don't then water from the cucumber releases into the dressing which in turn waters down the dressing. For two cucumbers I toss the slices with a teaspoon or so of salt and place into a strainer over a large bowl. Then I place this into the fridge for at least 30 minutes. The salt pulls the extra water out of the cucumber and melts into the bowl along with the water. There is very little salt taste left on the cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I make this recipe quite often and I always make sure to use English cucumbers and red onions. I also add 3 tomatoes seeded and cut into small wedges. Sometimes I use cherry tomatoes sliced in half. For the dressing, I find that adding 1/4 cup olive oil helps to make the marinade more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Trottier Dumeah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I make this recipe frequently. It's so easy to put together and gets better the longer it marinates. I use a little less sugar and fresh dill when I have it. Our whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennlovesdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Easy and delicious. I go a little lighter on the sugar and I heated the vinegar mixture in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Exceeds expectations, taste explosion! Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was great! I substituted rosemary for dill (living in a non-western country, sometimes I don't have access to specific spices). I also used white wine vinegar instead of just white vinegar. I agree with the review about salting and peppering the cucumbers and onions prior to putting on the mixture. I wish I had done it last night, but I always worry about cucumbers getting soggy and/or moldy, so I'm okay with doing it about 2 hours before serving and letting it refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 752) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States