Adobo Sirloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Very very good. Tender, steak with just the right amount of spice. Let our ribeyes marinate for 24 hours then they cut like butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This was pretty good. I wanted more of a marinade, so I added some chicken broth I had on hand and added one more pepper and a spoonful more of adobo sauce. Marinated for 6/7 hours, great flavor, not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Good but not great. The spice was definitely there so if you like spicy things you will like this. However, this isn't like a traditional marinade it's more like a paste. Although the flavors are good, I don't think there is a lot of depth to them to use this on a stand alone entree. I think this would be better used if making it for fajitas or something like that. If you want to use it for a stand alone I sugggest adding a little red wine or some beef broth and cut back on the lime and, to balance the flavors, I would add a T. of honey or molasses. I won't use this recipe again (as written) for a stand alone sirloin entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I made this with flank steak. Since I only like a little bit of spice, I left out the whole chipotle pepper and only used the adobo sauce. However, there wasn't really any liquid to cover the steak with. I guess it's supposed to be more of a rub than a marinade. I wanted a marinade, so I added 1/4 cup tequila and 1/2 cup of beef broth. The flavors were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
VERY GOOD AND SPICY, PROBABLY BECAUSE I USED 2 OF THE PEPPERS AND ALL OF THE SAUCE FROM THE CAN. I MARINATED THE MEAT FOR ABOUT 3 HOURS. NEXT TIME I WILL USE THE GRILL LIKE THE RECIPE SAYS, BECAUSE THE MARINADE IS SO THICK THAT IT KEPT BURNING IN THE HOT PAN. I WILL ALSO DOUBLE OR TRIPLE THE RECIPE BECAUSE I ONLY HAD ENOUGH TO COVER ONE POUND OF STEAK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I added about 4 tablespoons of EV olive oil and used this to marinade shrimp. I cooked them in a large skillet on the stove and made fajitas with them. YUM!! They were a little spicy for me, but everyone else loved it. I'll leave out the sauce from the chipotle peppers next time to make it not quite so hot. Really good on shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hudson's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I absolutely loved this. I only had half the amount of sirloin, but did not halve the amount of marinate just to see what it made. I'm glad, it turned out fantastic using all of it, but I like it hot. Too cold to start a grill outside so I broiled the meat and ate it like a good steak. Leftovers are good too! Can't wait to try this marinate on other meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The sauce is great - make sure you spend the extra for a good cut of meat however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Just okay. I marinated mine over night. The lime and cumin seemed to overpower the chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I tried this recipe twice. Once as written & I loved it but I agree it was too much for a steak. I used the marinade with skirt steak for fajitas the second time around & I decided to follow Bobby Flays rule of thumb at times is to add a little honey to balance everything out. I loved it even better with the honey added - about 1- heaping tablespoon. YUM-O! I also marinated it for about 4-5 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States