Adobo Sirloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Yummy! I added a bit more lime juice and probably tripled the amount of chipotles I used. I also used mexican oregano. Using fresh spices in this one is a must as old spices will get lost in the other flavors. It does make a great steak with a nice spicy smokey flavor. I will def be using this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I made this tonight. I doubled the recipe, probably added more lime than called for, I added more of the chipotle than called for as well. I marinated sirloin steaks and chicken tenders. They both turned out awesome! Excellent flavor and so easy to achieve. I like things hot as does my family, so this was fine. I can see some people might have problems with the hotness though, so be careful when first making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is good. Remember that chipotle in adobo sauce is HOT, so taste it for yourself before you get all willy-nilly on your marinade. I used the full amount and was fine with it (but, yow!). I agree with another reviwer about the lime getting lost a bit, so I would likely add more lime next time. Still great steaks, great idea. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Made this for my husband, who likes steak and spice and it was exactly what he wanted. I couldn't find chiptle chiles in adobo (not very common in Ontario, I think), so I used a smoky chipotle salsa instead, and it was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Great marinade! I added extra chipotle on mine. I made kabobs with sirloin steak tips, onion, and yellow bell pepper. I served it over rice pilaf. A pound of steak tips left plenty left over for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I had bought a can of chipotle peppers and was looking for a way to use the rest of them when I found this recipe. It is REALLY good on pork chops! I had half the meat the recipe calls for, so I halved the recipe. The only change I made was to use dried oregano leaves rather than ground, and I doubled the amount. I also used freshly ground cumin from seeds. I noticed that a few of the past reviewers have said the flavour was bland - I wonder if they were using old spices. When you use freshly ground spices it makes a HUGE difference in flavour. At first I was worried I wouldn't have enough marinade, but once you spread it around with a fork, and turn the meat a few times, it spreads out nicely. Keep in mind that it comes out more of a paste then a pourable liquid. I let the pork marinate for about 3 hours, then grilled it on a George Foreman grill. If you do not like things really spicy, than you may not like this recipe for meat as a main dish, however if you slice it up and eat it on tortillas with cheese, sour cream, guacamole, or some other spice absorbing condiment, then I'm sure you'll enjoy the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
WOW!! I just got done eating this, it was fantastic!! The flavors were excellent! I didn't have any limes so I just used a little bit of Squirt soda:) Thank you for a wonderful recipe! The meat was SO tender! I used top sirloin...mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I love this recipe. I usually triple the marinade amount, then make two days' worth of steaks, because the second day, I slice up the steak sand make fajitas. This recipe must be allowed to marinate at least overnight, though, to get the full flavor. I eat this with the Spanish Rice II recipe, and it is fabulous too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I feel bad giving this only 3 stars when most other people seem to love it, but I just didn't think it was that great. I followed the directions exactly and it still seemed a bit bland. You're probably thinking how could it be bland when there are peppers in it?? Yeah.... I don't know either. It's not bad, but not great either. Won't make again, sorry - maybe it was just me??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
So easy and very yummy! After reading some reviews, I wasn't sure if this would be way too spicy, so I opted to only use one chipotle pepper minced with a bit of the adobo sauce (rather be safe the first time and not ruin the entire steak!). I was marinating one piece of top sirloin (just under a pound) and we loved the smoky flavour. The result was not too spicy, so I could add a bit more next time. As others noted, I am sure this would be fantastic with fajitas! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States