Adobo Sirloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I marinated our steaks in the whole can of chipotle chilies with adobo sauce. It was excellent!! The next day, I made more sauce and marinated some thick pork chops, then grilled them. They were good to. Will try next on chicken and ribs. This is a keeper. Husband and kids both loved. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe. Will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
We tried this last night with tri-tip steaks and declared it a "keeper". The second thing out of my husband's mouth, the first being "WOW!", was that he couldn't wait to try it as fajitas. The marinate is just perfect, and made the steaks very tender. I will say that I was leery of using the whole can of Chipotles, until I read the rest of the recipe. That part was a bit confusing. But oh, what flavor!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Excellent! We marinated overnight with entire can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, grilled steak 24 hours later. This had flavor & spice, but reviews that say it smell bad and/or dish is too spicy must not be used to southwestern flavor & spices. We considered this dish "mild" for Arizona tastes and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
My Husband loved this, it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
We grilled this and served fajita style with sauteed peppers and onions. It was fantastic and has gone into our permanent recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
My husband went wild when he tasted this. This recipe is a keeper. I marinated a small roast in the adobe sauce (I used the whole can of Chipotle/Adobe sauce)for 24 hours. Then grilled it on the barbie with onions, and later the green peppers and mushrooms. It was fantastic. I had never used Chipotle peppers before and was a little leery. It reminded us of the food we had when we vacationed in Mexico. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
WOW! This is an excellent recipe! Thanks. I tried something similar in the "Chili's" cookbook, and it didn't come out near as good... it was also much more complicated to put together. This recipe was so simple and I had everything I needed on hand. This will definately become a regular at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Tasty! We had it as steaks but I can't wait to try it as fajitas! My only beef is that the amount of chipotle peppers in the ingredient list is different than what is actually used in the instructions so, be wary! Especially if you are not used to things being too spicy!!The next time I will marinade over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuoVadis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Great marinade! The measurement of the chipotle peppers was a little confusing, so I punted. I ended up putting all ingredients in the food processor and that way it was smooth and evenly ditributed. I marinated skirt steak overnight and then grilled it for a party of 25. It was a BIG hit! YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkurman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
It's true - the marinade smells pretty rank, but the end result is amazing! I halved the recipe, and used two large peppers and 2 tbsp of adobo sauce for our 1 lb of meat, and marinated about 2 hours. Now, I like my food spicy enough to make me cry (or at least sweat a little). But this was a little too hot for even me! So if you're not into food that makes your mouth numb, cut down on the sauce and peppers! BTW, my husband says that this steak, along with Carnation Mashed Potatoes from this site, are his new all-time favorite meal. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States