Adobo Herb Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
The sauce looks alright, but it's as far away as an adobo as it can get. Adding chipotle doesn't make it an adobo. Adobos, are different kinds of sauces that simmer over long time, and most use, dried chillies like ancho, guajillo or pasilla; dried spices, and sometimes seeds like annatto or achiote. Their main use is to marinade and simmer proteins, not as salsas. This is how misinformation gets spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victor Ortegon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This some of the best salsa I have ever had!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Excellent! I love the adobo addition! Adds such a great flavor. I didn't have fresh tarragon and so I used dried instead. I would definitely recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Adobo Herb Salsa Haiku: "Increased cilantro. And I dropped the tarragon. Nice adobo kick!" I love the smoky bite and spicy aftertaste that the adobo sauce gave this salsa; I didn't deviate from the recipe, except to scale it to half, so that I only had to use a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes. The longer it sits in the fridge, the tastier it gets, so aim for more than the recommended 30+ min. Simply scooped up onto tortilla chips, this is a tasty, and easy, alternative to store-bought salsa. (Oh, and as a random side note, once you open the can of chipotles to measure out the adobo sauce, the perfect sized container for what's remaining in the can is a leftover Spice World 8 oz. jar of minced garlic.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used a sweet white onion and added a little lime juice. Everyone at the party really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Good recipe but a knockoff, not original....this has been used by my friends for ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I was very pleasantly surprised by this salsa. It was flavorful and very fresh tasting. My husband and I both scarfed this down and he can't stand green peppers. The only change I made was a little dried tarragon because I didn't have any fresh. Next time I may use a little more adobo sauce to spice it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Very easy recipe to make! My husband loved it, and he has tried tons of salsa recipes. Has a very unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This salsa on a hot day is irresistable. Its uniquely wonderful! Everyone in my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
The tarragon in this salsa makes it taste weird, and not in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

How to Make Salsa

Use your food processor to make homemade salsa from fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States