Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Really easy and tasty chicken. Though it takes a long time to cook, the prep is simple. Mine turned out a touch dry, but it could be because I had less chicken so I cut down on the amount of sauce required. I also only had apple cider vinegar, and it turned out really tasty still. Perhaps will use 1:1 soy/vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I like to cut the ginger up in to bigger chunks. I also add a couple of medium size tomatoes to the recipe. Cut the tomatoes up in to big chunks. I have a Fillipino friend and that is how she taught me to make it...with the addidtion of the tomatoes that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Not being familiar with Filipino cuisine, I was looking for something "safe" to try out with my family. This turned out to be a good choice. I only used 6 garlic cloves (1/2 bulb), and added about 4 tbsp honey to cut the saltiness of the soy sauce reduction. I also thickened the sauce near the end with a little cornstarch/water mix, but these were the only changes I made. Got the "thumbs up" from the family, and in the end, that's what counts !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Adobo isn't supposed to be sweet by any means. If you're gonna add sugar or honey, please don't call it adobo. That's teriyaki. In this recipe, the vinegar to soy sauce ratio is off. Needs much more soy sauce. My mother is Filipina and this was a household staple. She never used a recipe, just went by taste and that's how I've learned. You can know when it's right because the color of the chicken should be a deep brown from the soy sauce. Adobo is a salty dish on it's own. That's why it's served over plain white rice to cut it. Also, I'm not sure about the whole peppercorns, regular black peper is just fine. I've never heard of using ginger either. The bay leaves are a must, though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This is the best adobo recipe I've found- it's just like what my in-laws serve, and it's very easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
LOVED this recipe. I made a few minor changes. One that was suggested is equal parts vinegar with the soy. I added about a Tbs of honey and after letting it sit in the crockpot for several hours, I put the chicken (minus the sauce) into a baking dish and just browned/crisped the top. Served over a bed of jasmine rice and drizzle with the sauce. YUMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Following the suggestions of other reviewers, I browned the chicken with onions. I also did equal parts red wine vinegar and soy sauce. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was very good. The chicken was ridiculously tender and very flavorful. I had worried that the garlic would be overpowering, but that was not the case at all. I just wish there was a little more variety within this dish itself (some hot peppers or vegetables, for example), but you can of course serve veggies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I mixed all the liquids and seasonings together and dumped it over partially frozen bone-in chicken breasts in the crock-pot. It cooked while we slept - the smell when I briefly woke around 4:30 was delicious, and the first taste when I got out of bed around 6:00 was pretty good. The only change I will make next time is to reduce the vinegar. I used 1/2 red wine vinegar and 1/2 rice wine vinegar, but found the ratio of vinegar to soy sauce not quite to my liking. I'd more likely use equal parts of both in my next try. Still tasted great, although the house smelled like vinegar, which is not my husband's favorite smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I took one reviewer's word and added 1/2 cup of sugar... This is FANTASTIC! It's been added to our weekly menu!! So easy too! LOVIN IT@!@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissTeena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva On The Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States