Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe. I cooked 9 drumsticks using ground ginger instead of fresh since I didn't have any around and browned the chicken first before simmering it in the adobo mixture. For the mixture, I also used about 5 or 6 bay leaves and found a filipino brand "Datu Puti" vinegar that's consist of cane vinegar and water. The combination of ingredients produced a very appetizing sauce to be eaten with rice. I will definitely try it again with fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Tasty, easy and not too high maintenance! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was good but there was a little something missing for me. Maybe it was just too much soy sauce, or maybe I needed something with a little bit more spice... cumin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooper, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this over the weekend, it was delish. It didn't make me cry with delight, but it definitely tasted good. I made one minor adjustment, only because it's what good ol' Ma would've done (she's filipino). I added about two tablespoons of brown sugar to help round out the flavor. Now, about those PEPPERCORNS... Suddenly chomping down on one of those puppys interrupted my culinary bliss... I won't be using those again! Just regular ol' pepper. All in all, though, this dish hit the spot. I loves me some Adobo! Most likely I'll be making this again, and YOU should, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Omitted peppercorns but otherwise followed as written, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Too much vinegar in it. The sauce was very thin. I removed the chicken and reduced it. I will experiment with this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great! I would recommend adding a 1/3 cups sugar to make it sweeter (sweet, sour, salty, etc). I did add some cornstarch to thicken the sauce though as the sauce is really watery. Also used less vinegar, 1/2 cup is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Wow... I was very impressed with this dish...It was perfect for a low carber. I did add a little cornstarch flurry to thicken it up (That added 7 carbs to the entire dish)... I also added a teaspoon of splenda to balance out the taste and a little chicken broth. This is great with some steamed veggies. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Really good and easy! I agree that getting the right flavor balance is a little tricky; mine had a little too much pepper in it. I took the advice of others and browned the chicken in onions first. I also pulled out the breasts after 30 minutes; I may have left them in if they'd been bone-in. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My mom always made a honey sauce with this, she took chili powder and honey and let it sit over night, heated it up right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States