Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this recipe last night and I got RAVE reviews from my husband, but I did make some adjustments...My step mother is from the heart of Manila and I remember going to Manila and spending lots of time there being cooked for by everyone...so my memory of Chicken Adobo was a bit different... I used 1 cup of chicken stock/broth instead of water. 1/4 cup of White Wine, 1/4 cup of Orange juice, 2 small potatoes. I also chose to brown the chicken in a pan with a bit of oil, garlic, onion and ginger and then added it to the cup of chicken stock/broth in the sauce pan. I did the same with the potatoes, letting them simmer for about 8 minutes before adding them to the mixture. Then I added the rest of the onion (I used one medium sized yellow onion.), garlic and ginger. As far as the vinegar/soy mix. I used 1 pound, .50 kilo's of boneless, skinless chicken thighs, chunked, so I adjusted the mix to 3/4 cup of soy sauce and I used 3/4 cup of vinegar (Half white and half wine) Turned out...extraordinary!!!!!!! I will be making this one again...and again..........and again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I'm 1/2 Filipino and this is similar to what I grew up on. I brown the chicken first with onion and garlic, then simmer with water, low sodium soy sauce, and rice vinegar. I throw in a couple bay leaves, a few peppercorns (don't omit these, they are wonderful!) season with pepper, onion & garlic powder. I don't think I use as much vinagar as this recipe calls for, but like a previous viewer said, it takes more than one try to balance the water/soy sauce/vinegar mixture to your taste. I'd probably just add extra water to this recipe. The other hint is to use low sodium soy sauce, this dish can tend to get very salty with regular soy sauce. I've never tried ginger, but I will next time I make this dish! My husband's family (they're German) love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaboMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made this recipe to the tee and it came out to sour and a bulb of garic was a bit much I would suggest a half cup vingar and two cloves of garic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I love chicken adobo... I make it from time to time but not following any particular recipe. I thought i would follow this recipe and see how it turns out. I thought the vinegar was way to overpowering. I think its best to use equal parts soy/vinegar. I also prefer to add aprox. 1 cup of water.(which i didnt do with this recipe) It ended up way to strong. I give it a 3 because i wouldn't make it following this exact recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This was great served on the rice!! I added one cup of water because I thought it would be too strong. I should have just let it alone. Will definitely be making again. Served this with green beans and corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VicWarren2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Excellent! This tastes is just like my mother's adobo. I added one cup of water as another reviewer suggested and it turned out perfect. I forgot to buy fresh ginger at the market so I used the powdered kind. It still turned out great. We're having it for dinner again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Isleton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I've made this a bunch of times, always with great results. I like to use 2 6-packs of boneless chicken thighs (or substitute 1 of the packs with a couple of thick boneless pork chops, cubed). I prefer to substitute at least half of the vinegar with cider vinegar, to cut down on the harshness of the vinegar, and to bring out a little tangy sweetness. I also use only about 1 teaspoon of peppercorns (counting them to make removal easier later). Before serving, I only try to remove the bay leaves and peppercorns, but I leave the bits of garlic and ginger in, since they add so much good flavor. My husband and our picky 2-year old love it, and so do I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this tonight (foreign cuisine night) and it was awesome! I used quartered chicken pieces, and rice wine vinegar. I almost threw in the onions I'd cooked like another reviewer recommended but after a quick taste of the cooked chicken I discarded that idea as the dish was very flavorful in its own right. I'm positive we will make the again and again. I served with warm Japanese sushi rice (practicing for next week's meal) and it paired very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I used chicken thighs and just cut the skin off myself to keep it from getting too greasy. I also used rice wine vinegar instead of white, but I think it was a mistake because the dish didn't have the pungency I was craving. Also, more peppercorns were needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This is very similar to what my mom use to make when I was little. All I do is combine all the ingredients in a large dutch oven (used alittle more soy sauce, the low sodium kind, and cut the vinegar to 1/2 cup and added 1 cup of water, this was it won't turn out too vinegar tasting) and put about 3 lbs of drumstick in and bring it to a boil, reduce heat and let simmer for 30 mins. The one thing that I love to do with this dish is to boil a few eggs in another pot until it's firm, peel them and stick them in the pot and stir it all up, it's not too often we eat hard boil eggs, and it's great this way served on a bed of hot jasmine or basmati rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States