Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Will definitely make it again when I'm craving chicken adobo. I followed a tip to not stir/disturb the meat otherwise it'll make it more vinegar tasting. There was a little tweaking to adjust for 2 people using 6 drumsticks+skin on (1.5 lb of meat), 1/2 the size of the original recipe basically. However, I used rice vinegar which is milder than American white vinegar. Minced up the ginger instead, used ready made minced garlic from a jar in our fridge instead whole fresh garlic, added equal parts of regular soy sauce to vinegar to water which was close to 1/4 cup of each & 1/4 cup of chicken broth. I basted the chicken with the liquid trying not to disturb the meat every 10 mins during that 30 mins which turned out still moist since my pot wasn't dutch oven type which would be smaller in comparison to the dutch oven. I ended up removing the chicken & adding cornstarch to the liquid to thicken the sauce. Will definitely make it again & consider using peppers for some spice or even the slow cooker to make it even more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Taking a hint, I used 2/3c rice vinegar, 2/3c pineapple juice, and 2/3c soy sauce, which gave the dish a nice sweet and sour flavor. Also, I slow cooked the chicken an hour so it was very tender and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
My mom is phillipino and this dish is a regular dish served at parties that her or her friends have. I love this recipe. The only things I would change about this recipe is lessen the ginger (it's a little too much),add some corn starch to thicken it up the sauce and use the sauce over the rice- it's delicious! You could also add some potatoes and make it a little more hardy. It's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I rated this a 5 but changed it a little...I used 8 chicken legs & 6 thighs (skin on). 1 cup garlic red wine vinegar, 3/4 cup soy sauce, 1/2 bulb garlic, 1 can chicken broth, 1/2 onion and the rest of the ingredients are the same as original recipe. I let this cook in the crockpot for 4 hours. I served this over Jasmine rice. The family could not get enough. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
Delicious! Served over white rice and it was incredible, even the kids had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This chicken is amazing! I fixed it almost exactly following the recipe. I used low-sodium soy sauce, 3 cloves of garlic, and 3/4 pound of chicken breasts (to serve 3). The sauce doesn't need to be diluted - other reviewers made me nervous about the strength of the vinegar, but the recipe's amount of vinegar is perfect without any added water. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
a lot of strong flavors here. just to balance everything out, i would suggest a healthy splash of sprite or coke! (dont be scared!) when i do my adobo, i marinate the chicen overnight in... no measurements, but pepper, soy sauce, vinegar, lemon juice, and sprite or coke. the sweetness of the soda rounds out the other strong flavors. to cook, i sautee garlic, tomato, and onion, then add and brown the chicken... add the leftover marinade, let it cook...peas at the end so it doesnt get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Oh yum! Really, really good recipe! I was a little skeptical about the ginger, since the chicken adobo I've always made never called for it, but it brought the dish to a whole new level. Plus, the whole kitchen smelled SO good all night after making it. Do add the chopped sweet onion, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this recipe last night and I got RAVE reviews from my husband, but I did make some adjustments...My step mother is from the heart of Manila and I remember going to Manila and spending lots of time there being cooked for by everyone...so my memory of Chicken Adobo was a bit different... I used 1 cup of chicken stock/broth instead of water. 1/4 cup of White Wine, 1/4 cup of Orange juice, 2 small potatoes. I also chose to brown the chicken in a pan with a bit of oil, garlic, onion and ginger and then added it to the cup of chicken stock/broth in the sauce pan. I did the same with the potatoes, letting them simmer for about 8 minutes before adding them to the mixture. Then I added the rest of the onion (I used one medium sized yellow onion.), garlic and ginger. As far as the vinegar/soy mix. I used 1 pound, .50 kilo's of boneless, skinless chicken thighs, chunked, so I adjusted the mix to 3/4 cup of soy sauce and I used 3/4 cup of vinegar (Half white and half wine) Turned out...extraordinary!!!!!!! I will be making this one again...and again..........and again!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I'm 1/2 Filipino and this is similar to what I grew up on. I brown the chicken first with onion and garlic, then simmer with water, low sodium soy sauce, and rice vinegar. I throw in a couple bay leaves, a few peppercorns (don't omit these, they are wonderful!) season with pepper, onion & garlic powder. I don't think I use as much vinagar as this recipe calls for, but like a previous viewer said, it takes more than one try to balance the water/soy sauce/vinegar mixture to your taste. I'd probably just add extra water to this recipe. The other hint is to use low sodium soy sauce, this dish can tend to get very salty with regular soy sauce. I've never tried ginger, but I will next time I make this dish! My husband's family (they're German) love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaboMama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States