Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This was an easy recipe and with red wine vinegar I found it pretty tasty too. Next time I wouldn't cook the sauce as long because it carmelized and there wasn't much to put on rice. I think the balance of soy to vinegar was fine, but the sauce could be better with a little water and sugar added to sweeten and make it less strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
We loved this! Anything with vinegar, garlic and chicken gets my attention because you know it is going to be fall-off-the-bone good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Made these last night in conjuction with my Traci's Adobo Seasoning and Chicken Adobo II. Boiled the chicken with that recipe and this recipe and subbed the salt with MSG (this is how my grandma cooks Adobo). Once the chicken was mostly tender, I added the potatoes. When the potatoes were done, I strained the chicken while reserving 1/2 the broth. Then I finished off the chicken with Chicken Adobo II. Time consuming but the 3 recipes put together is the closest that I could get to my grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
might have been the soy sauce that wasn't quite the right kind, but this did not taste the same as in the Philippines which is sad because it is so tasty there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Hmm.. this recipe looks nice, but i'd add 2 tbs of brown sugar. But then again every family makes their adobo a lil bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie Cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Excellent! I reduced the amount of vingear somewhat. Its fast, easy and delicious! Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chania, Crete, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Thought it was a little to hot>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Tijeras, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
My whole family really loves this! I change up the type of chicken to whatever I have in the house, but it always turns out great. It's perfect with Jasmine rice and is pretty darn simple to make. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I didn't realize until I tasted it that I have tasted this before. I guess I just didn't know what it was called. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used a 1/4 c of red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar, I also browned my chicken first. Very delicious will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Just like my mom makes. I think I'm going to use ginger powder next time and use less peppercorns. The flavour was just right though. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by comicbookguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States