Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This recipe was really good! I twirked it a little I added onion and red wine vinegar it was delicious my hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I have made this chicken adobo several times in the past few months and it has never failed to turn out great. My only call out would be to make sure that you are trully simmer this dish once covered- addressing that once the lid is on the pot this will make the temperature rise. Not simmering will reduce the liquid too much, make it overwhelmingly salty, and won't leave you with enough sauce to pour over your rice. Also, cut down the amt of vinegar to half. Using only dark meat definitely makes the dish more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilCoconut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
delicious. omg...this one is out of this world. mucho deliciouso. the only change i made is mixed both pork with skin and chicken steamed to tender before marinating removes most of the fat from both chicken and pork. ttry it youll like it melts in your mouth. serve with jasmine rice with this on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samreyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I forgot the ginger. Then again, a very similar recipe I used to use did not call for ginger. But it was still very good. I like this recipe because it is so simple- no chopping and little prep. Very forgiving on timing. One of my all time favorite recipes for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
a classic, just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Excellent recipe!!!! I double and triple the recipe and pair it with pancit!! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I think this is the best recipe I've seen online so far. Sounds the most authentic to how my mom cooked it for us growing up. Now that I've moved away from home, I still crave for my mom's adobo, but if I can't get it from her, I'll use this recipe to fill my void. Serve with steaming jasmine rice and DO drizzle the sauce over your rice. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This recipe is great. Reminds me of my mom's adobo. I didn't add ginger or bay leaves. I cooked the chicken first, then halfway through browning the chicken I added some onion. Then added all the other ingredients. I don't know if it would've tasted better with ginger but this was the best adobo I've ever made. People who are new to adobo might find the vinegary taste a little bit strong. The other adobos I've had (my mom's and grandma's) don't use ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillymuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
GREAT chicken adobo recipe. A friend of mine that was Filipino used to make chicken adobo, and I have been wanting a good recipe for it. This recipe is easy and delicious! My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
different, very very good, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States