Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is delicious! It came out tender with just the right spice- plus perfect ingredients for if you are sick like ginger and garlic (great for the immune system). I used crushed black pepper since I didn't have peppercorns. Great over white long grain rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This really is as good as everyone says it is! I tweeked it like many said to. I used red wine vinegar, added some sugar, chili powder, cumin and added sauted mushrooms, onions, add a few other veggies to the mix after it cooked. I served it over jasmine rice and WOW it was fantastic. My hubby loved it and I just shared this recipe with two co -workers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I could see this being good, but next time I will make one change. For me personally, it was just too much vinegar! The dish tasted too sour. I caught myself making the puckered sour face! Next time I would probably do only 1/2 a cup of white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I had ten drumsticks that I saved from a ruined Malaysian curry (bleck!), and had an hour to make something edible with ingredients I had on hand before the boyfriend came home. This is some of the most delicious, easiest meal that I made! The vinegar smelled a little too pungent while it was cooking, but the balance was just perfect in the end product, and all the vinegar tenderized the meat perfectly! YUM. Definitely will be keeping this in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is pretty much how I make my adobo, minus the ginger and with equal parts soy sauce/vinegar/water. My Lolo was a chef for the Navy and he made his with Teriyaki sauce, too. I like to make different variations from time to time, but I prefer the equal parts of sauces because you won't get too salty or too much vinegar. Adding water really helps for people that can't handle the taste. I do like the addition of the ginger, as used in teriyaki chicken. I can't imagine making chicken adobo without bay leaves, garlic, and pepper.... lots of pepper!!! And I agree having plain jasmine rice is the best way to eat it. Tear up your chicken after boiling for an hour, stick it over the rice, add some of the sauce to it....yummy!!!!!! (I'm Filipino)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Excellent recipe. I cooked 9 drumsticks using ground ginger instead of fresh since I didn't have any around and browned the chicken first before simmering it in the adobo mixture. For the mixture, I also used about 5 or 6 bay leaves and found a filipino brand "Datu Puti" vinegar that's consist of cane vinegar and water. The combination of ingredients produced a very appetizing sauce to be eaten with rice. I will definitely try it again with fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Tasty, easy and not too high maintenance! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was good but there was a little something missing for me. Maybe it was just too much soy sauce, or maybe I needed something with a little bit more spice... cumin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooper, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this over the weekend, it was delish. It didn't make me cry with delight, but it definitely tasted good. I made one minor adjustment, only because it's what good ol' Ma would've done (she's filipino). I added about two tablespoons of brown sugar to help round out the flavor. Now, about those PEPPERCORNS... Suddenly chomping down on one of those puppys interrupted my culinary bliss... I won't be using those again! Just regular ol' pepper. All in all, though, this dish hit the spot. I loves me some Adobo! Most likely I'll be making this again, and YOU should, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Omitted peppercorns but otherwise followed as written, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States