Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very easy and yummy recipe. The only thing I didn't care for was the lack of sauce afterward. All the chicken adobo I've had in the past has a thicker sauce. Maybe I'll had a bit of flower to the leftover sauce next time. Besides that one thing it was great. (Oh, and if you're not okay with vinegar tastes you won't care for chicken adobo, so just don't try it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houdini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Note: I added 1 cup of water to barely cover the chicken. Outstanding. Made it for our Phillipine friend at Christmas dinner and she said it tasted like home. Good for everyone as it isn't very spicy but could take spice well if that is your thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
liked it alot. have never had authentic adobo before so i didn't know what to expect. served it at a family gathering it was nice and easy to prepare. i think it's better if cooked longer than the recipe suggests. i cooked it in my dutch oven on low for four hours. i tasted it after the suggested cooking time and the vinegar was a bit overpowering but after a couple more hours it mellowed out alot. needs a little more spice i think. we sprinkled red pepper on it after plating. also i tossed in fresh whole mushrooms for the last hour they added a nice flavor to the broth and were a really tasty accompaniment. four stars because everyone was eating it for the first time and liked it and ate a lot of it but nobody was raving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Tastes just like Adobo should. Recipe is so good! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Sooo yummy! I did not use a whole chicken -- used a pack of boneless, skinless breast and a pack of boneless, skinless thighs. Also, after reading reviews I adjusted the amount of vinegar and added a cup of water. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Sooo good! I used a crock pot on low for a few hours and then deboned and skinned the chicken and put the meat back in on warm until dinner time. I also used another reviewers suggestions and did 1 c water, 1/4 c soy and 1/2 c red wine vinegar then all of the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was delicious. I added 2 cups of shredded carrots and used apple cider vinegar instead of regular. I used chicken breasts cut into strips and crock potted it for about 3 hours. Served it over basmati rice and it was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
super easy to make and tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
My husband, who swears that adobo is his favorite food ever, LOVED this recipe!! It had a wonderful flavor and the meat was so tender. Highly recommend! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was fantastic! I had adobo once when a co worker brought in huge pans full, and I forgot to ask her for the recipe. I used chicken drumsticks but followed everything else to the T. Picky daughter loved this and there were no leftovers. thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelbrandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States