Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We love this! My only changes were to cook in a slow cooker for 8 -10 hours, used 1/4 cup vinegar, and added 1/2 cup of water. Also, I was too busy to peel and chopped garlic, so I used 2 heaping teaspoons of jarred minced garlic. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was looking for a dish to make for girl scout international Night (we did the Philippines). And I found this. WOW this went over fantastically. I did 10 lbs and came home with less than a cup. I did follow the recomended changes. (used 1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar added 1 cup water. Used ground ginger). This has been added to our main dishes to cook. WOW amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I used my own variation and it turned out delicious! I don't like cooking twice so i just boiled everything on medium heat for about 35 minutes with the lid on. I used chicken thighs which always seem to pick up the marinade well. I didn't even have to let it sit in the marinade! I used the Braggs amino acids since I was on some diet earlier. I used about 1/4 cup braggs amino acids, 1 cup water, more if the juices are drying out too much (the juices will dry out even with the lid on), garlic powder, black pepper, and about 1-2 tablespoons of rice vinegar. I'm not a fan of vinegar, so less is better for me. I then put them all in the pot, pierced the skinless chicken thighs with a fork, and let it simmer on medium heat. then ate it with rice, now i'm addicted to it! yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe, but I did make a few changes to suit my family's tastes. I used white wine vinegar, instead of the distilled white. I also used only skinless chicken leg quarters, since breast meat can be rather dry if braised too long. And, I browned the chicken in a little canola oil before adding the soy-vinegar mixture. Finally, after the meat was cooked, I skimmed the fat off the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I used boneless skinless chicken and left out the ginger since I didn't have any. Browned the chicken. Then I started off with 1 cup low sodium soy sauce & 3/4 cup white vinegar it was to tart to me and keep mixing the soy &vinegar to my liking it was still a little tart so I added 3tsp brown sugar & 1 cup water. Brought it to a boil & let it simmer for about 3 hrs adding a little water to keep chicken covered. I still gave this recipe 5 stars because it is a great starting point and it was delicious my whole family loved it! As others reviewers have stated I think the key to this recipe is finding the right balance between the soy & vinegar and adjusting it to your tastes=) Next time I will try it with the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've never had Adobo chicken before so I can't comment on authenticity as other reviewers have, but I thorough enjoyed it. I loved the tangy flavour and the sauce was amazing over rice and veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Erica
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was great! My husband and kids loved it! Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very tasty and definitely a keeper. I make adobo all the time. Ginger adds a nice touch. I browned my chicken first in garlic and not too much oil. Then cooked all for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Thank you for this perfect adobo recipe! Yeah I'm filipino and I love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie C

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
this recipe is great. this is very similar to how my filipino mother cooks adobo except she puts more soy sauce then vinegar. A tip to reducing the tanginess flavor is by adding a pinch of baking soda until u reach your desired flavor of tanginess. works like a charm :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Boni Fasho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States