Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I'm Filipino & this is my favorite dish! You have to master the soy/ vinegar balance to your taste (sweet, sour, tangy). There are many brands of vinegar (distilled, apple, red wine)& soy sauces (low sodium, black, light)offered with different levels of tartness & saltiness. If you are lucky to live near a Filipino grocery store, my Lola always recommended "Native Vinegar (sugarcane) & Soy" to give it an authentic flavor. You can also cook chicken (dark)& pork(loin)together for this recipe. You should marinate it in the refrigerator overnight or 1-2 hrs. prior to cooking. You can also add whole chilis (yellow) place in the side of the pot, not moving or opening them so that it doesn't dominate the dish. Simmer slowly for it to blend. Don't rush, it won't be as delicious. It's done when the meats tender. If you like garlic, take out the meat/sauce from the pot. Saute some oil & garlic pieces & cook in medium heat. Add the meat & a small amount of sauce back to the pot & saute. You can also make "Adobo Fried Rice". Transfer the chicken & sauce into a serving dish. Saute a little oil & garlic. Add the rice & some of the adobo sauce into the pan & mix thoroughly in high heat. Vegetarians - you can cook your favorite vegetables like green beans, okra, etc... Chicken Adobo is well loved by all of my foreign friends & it's the most requested dish that I prepare. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
327 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I am part Filipino and generations of my family have always browned the chicken pieces first, in a little oil with one small, chopped onion in a separate skillet - then transfer to soup pot or dutch oven. Browning the chicken with onion first makes a huge difference to the flavor. I use 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and 1 cup water. Eliminate the white vinegar and peppercorns. Add a little salt if needed. You can also substitute fresh garlic with a generous amount of garlic powder or granulated garlic. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
i am filipino and this is a different version that i am used to .. but it is very good. the key is the right mix of vinegar to soy,*here is my mom's take on this....after boiling the adobo, pan fry in chicken to 2-3 tbsp. of oil.once it has brown, add the adobo sauce till you get a rich sauce . (once you cook it a few times you will get it.) i just can't eat it with plain rice... fry garlic till brown and add "day old rice and a bit of salt" yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I love chicken adobo... I make it from time to time but not following any particular recipe. I thought i would follow this recipe and see how it turns out. I thought the vinegar was way to overpowering. I think its best to use equal parts soy/vinegar. I also prefer to add aprox. 1 cup of water.(which i didnt do with this recipe) It ended up way to strong. I give it a 3 because i wouldn't make it following this exact recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I m ake chicken adobo got it from a sweet little Phooipine lady years ago. Very similar to this recipe. Everthing the same except she told me 1/3 cup vinegar to 2/3 cup soy sauce. she also use 1 pkc Lipton cream of chicken soup and 1 cup water but I just use the can of soup too now. I debone my chicken sometimes or cut up whole chicken and cut breast and thighs in half for more portions. I just made it last night for friends and family my picky 10 year old son was begging for more today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this tonight (foreign cuisine night) and it was awesome! I used quartered chicken pieces, and rice wine vinegar. I almost threw in the onions I'd cooked like another reviewer recommended but after a quick taste of the cooked chicken I discarded that idea as the dish was very flavorful in its own right. I'm positive we will make the again and again. I served with warm Japanese sushi rice (practicing for next week's meal) and it paired very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This is the worst recipe that I have had the misfortune of trying. This chicken tasted like vinegar. My step-son gagged and the only reason that my husband and I ate any is because it is what I had made for our dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This tasty recipe is perfect as is! When I made this for my husband, he said it was delicious and very authentic. My husband grew up in the Philippines so he knows authentic Filipino food when he tastes it. For those not used to Filipino food, this dish may have too strong of a vinegar taste. You may want to reduce the vinegar to 1/2 cup. For extra kick, I added onions, more garlic, and a few whole jalepeno peppers. Overall, an excellent recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe is pretty spot on. Being Filipina, you learn about dishes from the kitchen and not from recipes. However being away from the Philippines sometimes makes you forget, and measurements are really helpful. I think what this recipe doesn't discuss which is a very important step in making Chicken Adobo, is that before you turn on the heat, you need to let all of the ingredients sit for an hour. This lets the vinegar cook on its own. That way the dish never turns out vinegar-y. Instead, it has this awesome tangy taste. Also, if you add pork, the flavors are amazing. Chicken is good in itself though, if you don't eat pork. Lastly, if you can get a hold of "pandan leaves" Try stewing a leaf or two with this. Your guests will never be able to get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
OMG the chicken is amazing!!! The only change I made was that I had Skinless Chicken Leg Quarters, multi colored Pepper corns and after straining I cooked frozen Stir fry veggies in the sauce. Recipe lends itself to using chicken that isn't quite thawed. The cooking style ensures they thaw and cook corretly. I served it over a bowl of steamed Rice. Get a rice cooker and some good rice - it makes a meal like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States