Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Omitted peppercorns but otherwise followed as written, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Too much vinegar in it. The sauce was very thin. I removed the chicken and reduced it. I will experiment with this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great! I would recommend adding a 1/3 cups sugar to make it sweeter (sweet, sour, salty, etc). I did add some cornstarch to thicken the sauce though as the sauce is really watery. Also used less vinegar, 1/2 cup is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Wow... I was very impressed with this dish...It was perfect for a low carber. I did add a little cornstarch flurry to thicken it up (That added 7 carbs to the entire dish)... I also added a teaspoon of splenda to balance out the taste and a little chicken broth. This is great with some steamed veggies. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Really good and easy! I agree that getting the right flavor balance is a little tricky; mine had a little too much pepper in it. I took the advice of others and browned the chicken in onions first. I also pulled out the breasts after 30 minutes; I may have left them in if they'd been bone-in. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My mom always made a honey sauce with this, she took chili powder and honey and let it sit over night, heated it up right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Really easy and tasty chicken. Though it takes a long time to cook, the prep is simple. Mine turned out a touch dry, but it could be because I had less chicken so I cut down on the amount of sauce required. I also only had apple cider vinegar, and it turned out really tasty still. Perhaps will use 1:1 soy/vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I like to cut the ginger up in to bigger chunks. I also add a couple of medium size tomatoes to the recipe. Cut the tomatoes up in to big chunks. I have a Fillipino friend and that is how she taught me to make it...with the addidtion of the tomatoes that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ted

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Not being familiar with Filipino cuisine, I was looking for something "safe" to try out with my family. This turned out to be a good choice. I only used 6 garlic cloves (1/2 bulb), and added about 4 tbsp honey to cut the saltiness of the soy sauce reduction. I also thickened the sauce near the end with a little cornstarch/water mix, but these were the only changes I made. Got the "thumbs up" from the family, and in the end, that's what counts !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Adobo isn't supposed to be sweet by any means. If you're gonna add sugar or honey, please don't call it adobo. That's teriyaki. In this recipe, the vinegar to soy sauce ratio is off. Needs much more soy sauce. My mother is Filipina and this was a household staple. She never used a recipe, just went by taste and that's how I've learned. You can know when it's right because the color of the chicken should be a deep brown from the soy sauce. Adobo is a salty dish on it's own. That's why it's served over plain white rice to cut it. Also, I'm not sure about the whole peppercorns, regular black peper is just fine. I've never heard of using ginger either. The bay leaves are a must, though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States