Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Tasty, easy and not too high maintenance! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnieHR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was good but there was a little something missing for me. Maybe it was just too much soy sauce, or maybe I needed something with a little bit more spice... cumin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooper, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this over the weekend, it was delish. It didn't make me cry with delight, but it definitely tasted good. I made one minor adjustment, only because it's what good ol' Ma would've done (she's filipino). I added about two tablespoons of brown sugar to help round out the flavor. Now, about those PEPPERCORNS... Suddenly chomping down on one of those puppys interrupted my culinary bliss... I won't be using those again! Just regular ol' pepper. All in all, though, this dish hit the spot. I loves me some Adobo! Most likely I'll be making this again, and YOU should, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Omitted peppercorns but otherwise followed as written, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Too much vinegar in it. The sauce was very thin. I removed the chicken and reduced it. I will experiment with this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great! I would recommend adding a 1/3 cups sugar to make it sweeter (sweet, sour, salty, etc). I did add some cornstarch to thicken the sauce though as the sauce is really watery. Also used less vinegar, 1/2 cup is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Wow... I was very impressed with this dish...It was perfect for a low carber. I did add a little cornstarch flurry to thicken it up (That added 7 carbs to the entire dish)... I also added a teaspoon of splenda to balance out the taste and a little chicken broth. This is great with some steamed veggies. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Really good and easy! I agree that getting the right flavor balance is a little tricky; mine had a little too much pepper in it. I took the advice of others and browned the chicken in onions first. I also pulled out the breasts after 30 minutes; I may have left them in if they'd been bone-in. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My mom always made a honey sauce with this, she took chili powder and honey and let it sit over night, heated it up right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Really easy and tasty chicken. Though it takes a long time to cook, the prep is simple. Mine turned out a touch dry, but it could be because I had less chicken so I cut down on the amount of sauce required. I also only had apple cider vinegar, and it turned out really tasty still. Perhaps will use 1:1 soy/vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States