Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was just ok for us. My husband has been raving about the chicken adobo he had while deployed in Iraq so i searched around to find out how to make it. I tried his but he said what he had was more spicy sooo I just have to tweak or search again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Took the advice of another and used 1/3 c. vinegar and 2/3 cup soy. Also used less chicken and dried pepper and ginger to guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe! We use whatever chicken parts we have in the freezer. We adjusted the soy sauce to 3/4 cup and the vinegar down to 1/2 cup (per 6 serv). We also added sliced onions to cook with everything else. This recipe is equally as good if you remove the ginger. I prefer it with the ginger but my husband prefers it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Doubled the sauce... othewise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very easy and yummy recipe. The only thing I didn't care for was the lack of sauce afterward. All the chicken adobo I've had in the past has a thicker sauce. Maybe I'll had a bit of flower to the leftover sauce next time. Besides that one thing it was great. (Oh, and if you're not okay with vinegar tastes you won't care for chicken adobo, so just don't try it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houdini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Note: I added 1 cup of water to barely cover the chicken. Outstanding. Made it for our Phillipine friend at Christmas dinner and she said it tasted like home. Good for everyone as it isn't very spicy but could take spice well if that is your thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
liked it alot. have never had authentic adobo before so i didn't know what to expect. served it at a family gathering it was nice and easy to prepare. i think it's better if cooked longer than the recipe suggests. i cooked it in my dutch oven on low for four hours. i tasted it after the suggested cooking time and the vinegar was a bit overpowering but after a couple more hours it mellowed out alot. needs a little more spice i think. we sprinkled red pepper on it after plating. also i tossed in fresh whole mushrooms for the last hour they added a nice flavor to the broth and were a really tasty accompaniment. four stars because everyone was eating it for the first time and liked it and ate a lot of it but nobody was raving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Tastes just like Adobo should. Recipe is so good! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Sooo yummy! I did not use a whole chicken -- used a pack of boneless, skinless breast and a pack of boneless, skinless thighs. Also, after reading reviews I adjusted the amount of vinegar and added a cup of water. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Sooo good! I used a crock pot on low for a few hours and then deboned and skinned the chicken and put the meat back in on warm until dinner time. I also used another reviewers suggestions and did 1 c water, 1/4 c soy and 1/2 c red wine vinegar then all of the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States