Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I've been making adobo since my husband got the recipe from his Filipino grandmother. He loved this dish growing up, and I've tried a few variations. His grandmother boiled the ingredients in water to cover, so that there would be plenty of that delicious juice to soak into the bowl of rice, and that's how the family likes it. For this version, I did add some water and used an equal ratio of soy to vinegar. The fresh ginger was something I'd never used before, and it added a subtle, delicious layer to that sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This recipe is simply amazing. I could eat this chicken every week and never tire of it. That said, I did feel that it was a little salty for my taste.. even with low sodium soy sauce. So I added about 1/4 cup of water and it is now perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is a good recipe but I prefer the vinegar/soy ratio more even and I add water, like others have mentioned. I like to make this in the oven or slow cooker so I can go off and leave it. By the way, potatoes cut in large chunks are amazing. No butter needed when you eat them! Just add a vegetable or salad. Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Very good recipe -- the measurments seem to work well together. My boyfriend had never had chicken adobo but he really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I used equal parts vinegar and soy sauce and diluted my soy sauce with a little water I also browned chicken 1st with some onion then marinated it all over night. The next day I put it all in the slow cooker. I would really recommend marinating the chicken if you have the time. Also I added some sugar to cut down on the sourness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was just ok for us. My husband has been raving about the chicken adobo he had while deployed in Iraq so i searched around to find out how to make it. I tried his but he said what he had was more spicy sooo I just have to tweak or search again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Took the advice of another and used 1/3 c. vinegar and 2/3 cup soy. Also used less chicken and dried pepper and ginger to guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a great recipe! We use whatever chicken parts we have in the freezer. We adjusted the soy sauce to 3/4 cup and the vinegar down to 1/2 cup (per 6 serv). We also added sliced onions to cook with everything else. This recipe is equally as good if you remove the ginger. I prefer it with the ginger but my husband prefers it without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Doubled the sauce... othewise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very easy and yummy recipe. The only thing I didn't care for was the lack of sauce afterward. All the chicken adobo I've had in the past has a thicker sauce. Maybe I'll had a bit of flower to the leftover sauce next time. Besides that one thing it was great. (Oh, and if you're not okay with vinegar tastes you won't care for chicken adobo, so just don't try it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houdini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States