Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
marinate for awhile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mr_meg
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I love adobo and this is a great recipe. For those non-filipinos who think the soy sauce-vinegar is too heavy here is my solution: put 1 TBS soy sauce and 1 TBS apple cider vinegar in 1/2 cup and fill the rest with water. Use this mixture for 2 boneless skinlless chicken drumsticks (abour 1/2 pound). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mr_meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I love Chicken Adobo and I normally add a little water to the vinegar and low-sodium soy sauce. I did add a little pinch of white sugar. I grated fresh ginger instead of slicing it and used a few garlic cloves, not a whole garlic bulb. I added the bay leaves and lots of fresh ground black peppercorn to the sauce. I let the sauce come up to a full boil then added the chicken thighs, covered the pot and let it cook for 30 minutes, occasionally stirring and checking the chicken. I uncovered the pot and let the sauce simmer until some of the liquid reduced a bit, 5 minutes or so. I can't tell you how wonderful the soy sauce, garlic, ginger and vinegar smells in my house..Mmm...MMM!! The chicken is so juicy, tender and seasoned just perfectly! The flavors all balanced out in the sauce, each standing on it own, but not overpowering each other. The ginger is a nice touch to the sauce and flavored the chicken wonderfully. I poured extra sauce over my rice. This is a sauce you will have to adjust according to your tastes because while others like it more "vinegary", I prefer mine a little less which is why I always have to add a pinch of sugar with water. You can also use pork in place of chicken, which also tastes great. This paired perfectly with, "Roasted Corn with Garlic Rice, " and "Baby Bok Choy with Garlic," from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Super yummy! My dad makes an adobo that doesn't require the bay leaves, though, and honestly I couldn't tell the difference. Thankyou for a recipe I feel I can build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sorrowsmiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
didnt taste good at all unfortunately..inspite of adding more garlic, more pepper still tasted like soy sauce and too salty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe to the T and I think its decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
My Mom is filipina too and this almost tasted like what she used to make. I called her before I made this and she told me to add a 1/4cup of water so that the chicken would be more tender. I had to also add a 1/4 of soy sauce because the vinegar was too strong. My mom never browned hers like some of the other reviewers suggested. She also only used thighs and drumsticks and she never used ginger. Next time I won't use white meat because the breasts didn't come out as tender as I hoped. The dark meat was good and it was falling off the bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe is pretty spot on. Being Filipina, you learn about dishes from the kitchen and not from recipes. However being away from the Philippines sometimes makes you forget, and measurements are really helpful. I think what this recipe doesn't discuss which is a very important step in making Chicken Adobo, is that before you turn on the heat, you need to let all of the ingredients sit for an hour. This lets the vinegar cook on its own. That way the dish never turns out vinegar-y. Instead, it has this awesome tangy taste. Also, if you add pork, the flavors are amazing. Chicken is good in itself though, if you don't eat pork. Lastly, if you can get a hold of "pandan leaves" Try stewing a leaf or two with this. Your guests will never be able to get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I made this for my family, (Parents, Nephews, and Nieces, Kids and Wife). The Wife is Philippino, she told me it tasted like being back home. The rest of us Americans loved it too. Of course I had to change the number of servings. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne D Kisela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firemandale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States