Adobo Chicken with Ginger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Super yummy! My dad makes an adobo that doesn't require the bay leaves, though, and honestly I couldn't tell the difference. Thankyou for a recipe I feel I can build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sorrowsmiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
didnt taste good at all unfortunately..inspite of adding more garlic, more pepper still tasted like soy sauce and too salty..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe to the T and I think its decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
My Mom is filipina too and this almost tasted like what she used to make. I called her before I made this and she told me to add a 1/4cup of water so that the chicken would be more tender. I had to also add a 1/4 of soy sauce because the vinegar was too strong. My mom never browned hers like some of the other reviewers suggested. She also only used thighs and drumsticks and she never used ginger. Next time I won't use white meat because the breasts didn't come out as tender as I hoped. The dark meat was good and it was falling off the bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe is pretty spot on. Being Filipina, you learn about dishes from the kitchen and not from recipes. However being away from the Philippines sometimes makes you forget, and measurements are really helpful. I think what this recipe doesn't discuss which is a very important step in making Chicken Adobo, is that before you turn on the heat, you need to let all of the ingredients sit for an hour. This lets the vinegar cook on its own. That way the dish never turns out vinegar-y. Instead, it has this awesome tangy taste. Also, if you add pork, the flavors are amazing. Chicken is good in itself though, if you don't eat pork. Lastly, if you can get a hold of "pandan leaves" Try stewing a leaf or two with this. Your guests will never be able to get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I made this for my family, (Parents, Nephews, and Nieces, Kids and Wife). The Wife is Philippino, she told me it tasted like being back home. The rest of us Americans loved it too. Of course I had to change the number of servings. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WayKis1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firemandale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
easy and delicious!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Sooo delicious! I think I outdid my Philippino friends with this recipe! My daughter asks me to make this all the time! It's really easy, too! I added diced onions one time and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti T.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I've been making adobo since my husband got the recipe from his Filipino grandmother. He loved this dish growing up, and I've tried a few variations. His grandmother boiled the ingredients in water to cover, so that there would be plenty of that delicious juice to soak into the bowl of rice, and that's how the family likes it. For this version, I did add some water and used an equal ratio of soy to vinegar. The fresh ginger was something I'd never used before, and it added a subtle, delicious layer to that sauce. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States